Home Cricket News ICC Champions Trophy 2025: PCB Think Of Hosting India Games In Lahore

ICC Champions Trophy 2025: PCB Think Of Hosting India Games In Lahore

ICC Champions Trophy 2025: PCB Think Of Hosting India Games In Lahore

Pakistan will host the 2025 Champions Trophy to be played in February. They have designated Lahore, Rawalpindi, and Karachi as venues for the mega event.

The exact schedule for the Champions Trophy has not been announced yet which is likely to take place in mid-February. It is still unsure that India would travel to Pakistan due to tensions between India and Pakistan. The Indian team did not visit to Pakistan for the Asia Cup 2023 as India’s matches were held in Sri Lanka including the finals.

The PCB has been identified as the sole venue for Indian games after a lot of thought. It will allow fans to travel across the Wagh border without any difficulty. The organizers do want the Indian team to visit Cris Cross across the country to play the matches.  The PCB decided to send the venues and schedule to ICC for this mega event.

It will be a huge event for the Pakistani people as they will host their first ICC tournament after a long time. Under the captaincy of Sarfaraz Ahmed, Pakistan stunned the Indian team in the finals of CT 2017 played in England and Wales.

The Champion’s Trophy was allocated to Pakistan in 2008 in Pakistan but due to security concerns, the tournament was shifted to South Africa in 2009.

The ICC Champions Trophy was known as ICC Knockout Trophy in 1998 in Dhaka and 2000 in Nairobi. After the 2000 edition, it was renamed as Champions Trophy. It was held every two years till 2009.

The previous ICC Champions Trophy was held in the 2017 edition and ICC scrapped the prestigious event. They decided to bring the 8-nation tournament again.

The first round comprises two groups of four with the top two in each group progressing to the semi-finals and the winners contesting the final. “The event is short, sharp, and highly competitive,” says the ICC.

The Indian Cricket Team has not visited Pakistan since the 2008 Asia Cup. The PCB decided to agree with the hybrid model as India was not eager to travel. Few matches were held in Pakistan and India’s matches took place in Sri Lanka.

8 Teams Taking Part in Champions Trophy 2025

A total of 8 teams will take part in the 2025 edition of the Champions Trophy. The teams include India, Pakistan, South Africa, England, New Zealand, Australia, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

It promises to be an exciting tournament with the top eight nations in the world featuring before winning this brilliant short and sharp tournament.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts