Home ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: How Has Indian Team Fared In ODI World Cup Finals?

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: How Has Indian Team Fared In ODI World Cup Finals?

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: How Has Indian Team Fared In ODI World Cup Finals?
Team India

The ICC ODI World Cup 2023 is set to witness a cracker of a final. Team India will be taking on Australia in the marquee clash of the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 on Sunday, November 19 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. They have dominated the tournament so far, staying unbeaten heading into the final.

India finished at the top of the points table with 18 points from nine matches. They continued their stunning form in the knockout round. The Rohit Sharma-led team defeated New Zealand by 70 runs on Wednesday, November 15 at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai in the first semi-final. This will be India’s fourth appearance in the finals of the ICC ODI World Cups. Let’s take a look at how the Indian men’s team has fared in the finals of the ICC ODI World Cup so far.

Team India’s (Men) record in the ICC ODI World Cup Finals

1983 Prudential Cup

Team India was the dark horse of the 1983 Prudential Cup. They were not given a chance by many in the final against the mighty West Indies. However, they pulled off a historic win that changed the landscape of Indian cricket. They managed 183 batting first, with Kris Srikkant top-scoring with 38 runs. In response, West Indies got all out for 140, handing India a 43-run win. Mohinder Amarnath won the Player of the Match award for scoring 26 (80) & taking 3/12.

2003 ODI World Cup

Team India faced Australia in the 2003 ODI World Cup final. Batting first, Australia put on 359 runs on the back of a century by Ricky Ponting. The Australian skipper slammed 140 runs from 121 deliveries. Damien Martyn also played a fine hand scoring 88 runs at a strike rate of 104.76. In response, India struggled to tackle the Australian bowling attack. Glenn McGrath picked three wickets, while Andrew Symonds and Brett Lee picked two each, as India got all out for 234 runs.

2011 ODI World Cup

Team India entered the 2011 ODI World Cup with a lot of expectations playing at home. They lived up to the expectations, clinching their second-ever ODI World Cup title. They defeated Sri Lanka in the finals at the Wankhede Stadium by six wickets. Batting first, Sri Lanka managed 274 runs with Mahela Jayawardene slamming a century. Yuvraj Singh and Zaheer Khan took a couple of wickets. In response, India chased down the total with 6 wickets in hand. Gautam Gambhir played a great knock, scoring 97 runs, while MS Dhoni stayed unbeaten on 91.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts