Home Cricket News ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Match Officials Announced For The Semi-Finals

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Match Officials Announced For The Semi-Finals

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Match Officials Announced For The Semi-Finals
India vs New Zealand

The ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 entered the business stage with the two semi-finals to take place on 15th and 16th November 2023.

The first semi-finals will be played between India and New Zealand at Wankedhe Stadium, Mumbai on 15th November while the second semi-finals will take place between South Africa and Australia at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on 16th November.

“We are happy to announce the match officials for the semifinals of the World Cup. The officiating team has performed to a high standard to this point of the event, and I wish those in the knockouts all the very best.

“I would also like to take this opportunity to congratulate Rod and Richard for their milestones during this World Cup. Such achievements are only earned via consistently strong performances which is a credit to each of them.”

India vs New Zealand 1st Semi-Final

The Indian Cricket Team proved too hot for every opponent in the league stage winning all their matches and finishing at the top with 18 points. On the other hand, New Zealand started the tournament with 4 successive wins before losing the next 4 matches. Kiwis thrashed Sri Lanka in the last league game with ease to qualify for the semi-finals as the number 4th ranked team with 10 points.

Match Officials For Semi-Finals 1 Between India and New Zealand

On-field Umpires– Richard Illingworth and Rod Tucker

Third Umpire– Joel Wilson

Fourth Umpire– Adrian Holdstock

Match Referee– Andy Pycroft

South Africa vs Australia 2nd Semi-finals

South Africa finished 2nd in the points table with 7 wins and 2 losses. Their two losses came against the Netherlands and India. Proteas performed brilliantly as de Kock was the leading performer with 4 centuries to his name. On the other hand, Australia finished same number of points as South Africa, but due to less run rate, the Aussies finished 3rd. After losing the first two matches against India and South Africa, they won seven successive matches and made it into the semi-finals.

Match Officials For The 2nd Semi-Finals Between Australia and South Africa

Onfield Umpires– Richard Kettleborough and Nitin Menon.

Third Umpire– Chris Gaffney

Fourth Umpire– Micheal Gough

Match Referee– Javagal Srinath.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts