Home Cricket News ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Netherlands Announce Squad For The Marquee Event

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Netherlands Announce Squad For The Marquee Event

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Netherlands Announce Squad For The Marquee Event

The Netherlands named a 15-member squad for the upcoming Cricket World Cup to be played in India starting from 5th October 2023. They made it into this 10-team tournament by finishing 2nd during the ICC World Cup qualifiers played in Zimbabwe in July this year.

The team will be led by Scott Edwards. They have lots of experience with the likes of Max O Dowd, Vikramjit Singh, Bas de Leede, Paul Van Meekeren, Teja Nidamanuru, Logan Van Beek and other specialists who can change the course of the game with abilities.

Netherlands’ performance in ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2023

The fight for the final spot was between the Netherlands and Scotland as Scotland knocked out host Zimbabwe. The Netherlands performed superbly, chasing down the target of 278 in 42.5 overs to qualify for the mega event.

The Netherlands qualified for the Super Six stage by stunning two-time World Champion West Indies with a tie scoring 374 for 6. Logan Van Beek scored 30 runs in the Super Over against Jason Holder and also bowled a superb over to help the Netherlands register a historic victory.

The Super Six stage saw the Netherlands winning 3 matches and losing 2. They thrashed Oman by 74 runs via the DLS method carrying points from the league stage. The Netherlands bundled out Sri Lanka for 213 but lost the match by 21 runs. They then stunned Scotland with a brilliant run chase of 278 in just 42.5 overs to qualify for the tournament.

The Netherlands recalled the experienced pair of Colin Ackermann and Roelf Van der Merwe for this tournament. Both players have done brilliantly for the Netherlands side and have the experience of playing in various domestic games around the world.

Netherlands Schedule of World Cup 2023

The Netherlands will begin their World Cup tournament with a tough against Pakistan at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad on 6th October. They will then face New Zealand at the same venue on the 9th. The Netherlands would then take on South Africa in their third match played at Dharamshala on 17th October. They will face Sri Lanka on a tough batting pitch at Lucknow on the 21st.

They will then move to Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi to face Australia on 25th October. The Netherlands would face Bangladesh in match number 6 at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on 28th October. Their next match would be against spin-quality team Afghanistan on 3rd November at Lucknow. They will then face England at MCA Stadium, Pune on 8th November.

They will round up the league stage against India at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on 12th October.

Netherlands Squad

Max O Dowd, Vikramjit Singh, Scott Edwards (C), Bas De Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Paul van Meekeren, Colin Ackermann, Roelf Van der Merwe, Logan Van Beek, Aryan Dutt, Ryan Klein, Wesley Barresi, Saqib Zulfiqar, Shariz Ahmed, Sybrand Engelbrecht.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts