Home Cricket News ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Star Player Included As India Squad Announced For The Marquee Event

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Star Player Included As India Squad Announced For The Marquee Event

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Star Player Included As India Squad Announced For The Marquee Event
India's World Cup squad for 2023 announced

The chief selector Ajit Agarkar announced a 15-member provisional squad for the upcoming 50-over Cricket World Cup to be played in India starting from 5th October 2023. Rohit Sharma will lead the side in the prestigious tournament. Shubman Gill will be his opening partner while Ishan Kishan will be the third opener during the prestigious tournament.

Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and Ravindra Jadeja consist of middle-order batters in this tournament. The pace bowling department consists of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, and Shardul Thakur. Prasidh Krishna will be not part of the squad. Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel would consist of spin bowling options.  KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan will be the two wicketkeepers in the squad.

Indian team is currently taking part in the Asia Cup 2023 as they made it into the Super 4 stage with a dominating 10-wicket win over Nepal played at Palleke International Stadium, Kandy on 4th September. The first match between India and Pakistan ended in a no-result with rain not allowing the 2nd innings not take place.

Ishan Kishan played a brilliant 82 runs innings against arch-rivals Pakistan when India looked in trouble at 66 for 4. Tilak Varma and Praisdh Krishna were included in the squad for the Asia Cup 2023 but have been dropped for the prestigious World Cup event.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Schedule

The Indian team looks strong on paper with players like Jasprit Bumrah, Shreyas Iyer, and KL Rahul making a comeback from an injury. They will begin their tournament against Australia on 8th October at M Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai. After that, they will face Afghanistan on 11th October at Arun Jaitley Stadium, New Delhi. The third match would take place at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on 14th October.

Their fourth match will be against Bangladesh on 19th October at MCA Stadium, Pune, followed against New Zealand at Dharmshala on 22nd. Then they will face England at Lucknow on 29th October, followed by the match against Sri Lanka at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 2nd November.

They will then take on South Africa at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on 5th November, and the final match of the league stage against the Netherlands at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on 12th November. The top four teams after the league stage would qualify for the semi-finals. India would look to win an ICC title after 12 years of pain.

India’s squad for the 2023 Cricket World Cup

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Axar Patel, Mohammed Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts