Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Sunil Gavaskar Picks India’s 15-Member Squad; Snubs...

ICC T20 World Cup 2021: Sunil Gavaskar Picks India’s 15-Member Squad; Snubs Shikhar Dhawan

Sunil Gavaskar KKR
Sunil Gavaskar. (Photo Credit: BCCI)

Former India cricketer Sunil Gavaskar has picked his 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021. The global T20 event is slated to take place in the UAE and Oman, which starts on October 17. Meanwhile, the Board of Control for Cricket in India is likely to announce the squad sometime today.

During a conversation with Sports Tak, Gavaskar left out two of the frontrunners – Shikhar Dhawan and Shreyas Iyer while picking his squad for the mega event. Incidentally, Iyer had the spot of his own following the 2019 World Cup. However, Sunil Gavaskar has instilled his confidence in spin-bowling all-rounder Krunal Pandya.

“He’s an all-rounder, a very experienced player, has performed very well in the IPL for the past many years so he surely deserves a place. He’s left-handed, which is an advantage as well,” Gavaskar said over the selection of the elder of the Pandya brothers.

Washington Sundar should get a nod for T20 World Cup: Sunil Gavaskar

Predicted Playing XI

Adding further, Sunil Gavaskar picked Ravindra Jadeja and Washington Sundar as two spin bowling all-rounders. Talking about the pacers, Jasprit Burmah, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah were the three pacers alongside Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur. Yuzvendra Chahal was the only specialist spinner selected in the 15-man team by Sunil Gavaskar.

Meanwhile, speaking about the top-order batters, Gavaskar went with Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul as openers followed captain Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav for the No.4 spot. Rishabh Pant was picked as the wicket-keeper for the ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

Sunil Gavaskar’s India squad for T20 World Cup 2021: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (c), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar (subject to fitness), Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Get the latest update on IPL 2021England vs India 2021, and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.