Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Australia Announce Squad For The Marquee Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Australia Announce Squad For The Marquee Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Australia Announce Squad For The Marquee Event
T20 WC 2024

Australia named their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in the West Indies and the USA. Mitchell Marsh has been appointed as the captain for this event. The major exclusions for this team are Jake Fraser McGurk and Steve Smith. They can make changes to the squad till 25th May 2024.

The batting order looks strong including Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh, Warner, Glenn Maxwell, Tim David, Cameron Green, Marcus Stoinis, and Josh Inglis who can change the course of the match with their power-hitting.

Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Cummins along with Stoinis, Green, and Mitchell Marsh would be pace bowling options. Adam Zampa would be a genuine spin bowling option along with Maxwell and Ashton Agar who returns to the squad after a long injury layoff.

“This is an experienced squad with extensive World Cup experience that offers a variety of structures and covers the scenarios the panel believes will factor in the West Indies with the unique nature of the venues and our opponents,” Bailey said.

“We will continue monitoring several players who have missed out on this preliminary squad and note that if we need to change this squad, we have the option to do so over the coming month by ICC regulations. 

Australia’s Schedule For WC 2024

Australia has been clubbed with England, Oman, Scotland, and Namibia in Group B. They would start their tournament against Oman at Kennington Oval, Barbados on 5th June.

After this, they would face arch-rivals England in their Group game at Barbados on 8th June. Australia will take on Namibia at Sir Vivian Richards Stadium, Antigua to be played on 11th June. They will finish off the group stage against Scotland on 15th June at Darren Sammy Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia.

Australia and England are the likely teams to qualify for the Super Eight stage. Australia failed to qualify for the semi-finals in the 2022 edition of WC.

Australia’s T20 WC squad

Mitchell Marsh (C), Warner, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Cameron Green, Tim David, Ashton Agar, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa, Nathan Ellis.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts