Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Marcus Stoinis Dismantles Oman’s Bowling Attack

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Marcus Stoinis Dismantles Oman’s Bowling Attack

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Marcus Stoinis Dismantles Oman’s Bowling Attack

In the ongoing T20 World Cup 2024 at Kensington Oval in Barbados, Australia’s Marcus Stoinis and David Warner led their team to amass a total of 164 runs against Oman on Thursday.

Oman opted to field first after winning the toss. Initially, Oman’s bowlers had Australia in trouble, reducing them to 50-3 by the 9th over. However, the Australian side managed to reach a score of 164-5 by the end of their 20 overs.

Marcus Stoinis played a pivotal role with an impressive unbeaten 66 runs off 35 balls, featuring two boundaries and six sixes. The aggressive batter targeted Oman’s top bowler, Mehran Khan, hitting four sixes in one over. This occurred during the fifteenth over of Australia’s innings, as they struggled after being sent in to bat.

Mehran started with a double, then bowled a full-length ball that Stoinis dispatched over long off for six. Stoinis followed with another six straight down the ground and finished the over with two more flat sixes over long off and long on. Stoinis’s powerful hitting gave Australia crucial momentum after the early dismissals of Head, Maxwell, and Marsh.

David Warner contributed significantly as well, scoring 56 runs off 51 balls.For Oman, Mehran Khan was the standout bowler, taking 2 wickets for 38 runs in his four overs.

Here are some Twitter reactions after Stoinis knock:

Australia is striving to secure the rare achievement of being the World Test Champions, ODI World Champions, and T20 Champions concurrently. Meanwhile, Oman is looking to recover from a disappointing start to the tournament, following a heartbreaking loss to Namibia.

The lineups were as follows:

Oman: Kashyap Prajapati, Pratik Athavale (wk), Aqib Ilyas (c), Zeeshan Maqsood, Khalid Kail, Ayaan Khan, Shoaib Khan, Mehran Khan, Shakeel Ahmed, Kaleemullah, Bilal Khan

Australia: David Warner, Travis Head, Mitchell Marsh (c), Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Tim David, Matthew Wade (wk), Mitchell Starc, Nathan Ellis, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts