Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Papua New Guinea Announce Squad For Marquee Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Papua New Guinea Announce Squad For Marquee Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Papua New Guinea Announce Squad For Marquee Event

Papua New Guinea announced their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup to be played in the West Indies and USA starting from 2nd June onwards. The experienced Asad Vala would lead this side. Tony Ura, Lega Sieka, Charles Amini, Sese Bau, Vala, and Chad Soper comprise top-quality batters.

PNG consists of left-arm quick-pace bowlers Sema Kema and Kabua Vagi Morea who can trouble the batters with their pace.  They have eight all-round options for PNG who can bat and bowl.

“The energy has been great within the team. For some of the boys who went to the last T20 World Cup, it’s a different feeling now with a lot of the training because the last time was during Covid, and the preparation wasn’t as good as what we’re going through now. I am looking forward to this event because I know we are going to do well.”

PNG’s World Cup Schedule:

Papua New Guinea has been clubbed with the West Indies, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and debutant Uganda. They would begin their journey against the West Indies on 2nd June at Providence Stadium, Guyana.

PNG then will face debutant Uganda on 5th June at Providence Stadium, Guyana. They would take on Afghanistan in their 3rd group match on 12th June at Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad. They will finish the group stage against New Zealand on 17th June at Brian Lara Cricket Academy, Trinidad. It looks highly unlikely that PNG would qualify for the Super Eight stage.

Papua New Guinea qualified for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 by finishing top of the East Asia Pacific qualifier that took place from 22nd-29th July last year. This will be their 2nd T20 World Cup as they featured in the 2021 edition. They could not win any match losing to Bangladesh, Scotland, and Oman.

PNG Squad for T20 World Cup 2024:

Assadollah Vala (c), CJ Amini (vc), Alei Nao, Chad Soper, Hila Vare, Hiri Hiri, Jack Gardner, John Kariko, Kabua Vagi Morea, Kipling Doriga, Lega Siaka, Norman Vanua, Sema Kamea, Sese Bau, Tony Ura.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts