Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Sri Lanka Name Their Squad For Mega Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Sri Lanka Name Their Squad For Mega Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: Sri Lanka Name Their Squad For Mega Event
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka became the latest team to announce their 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 that will take place in the USA and West Indies from 2nd June onwards.

The team will be led by Wanindu Hasranga. It looks like an impressive squad as Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Dhananjaya de Silva, Mathews, Charith Asalanaka, Dasun Shanaka, and Kamindu Mendis comprise strong batters.

The pace bowling options consist of Nuwan Thusara, Chameera, Pathirana, and Dilshan Madushanka. Dunith Wellage, Hasranga, and Maheesh Theekshana would comprise spin bowling options that can trouble the batters with their variations.

Sri Lanka’s Schedule For T20 World Cup 2024

Sri Lanka has been clubbed with the Netherlands, South Africa, Nepal, and Bangladesh in Group D. Their first match of the tournament will be against South Africa on 3rd June in New York. After this, they would face Bangladesh on 7th June at the Grand Prairie Stadium, Dallas, Texas.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka will face Nepal at Lauderhill, Florida on 11th June 2024. They would end their league against the Netherlands at Darren Sammy Stadium, St Lucia on 16th June. Sri Lanka might qualify for the Super 8 stage if they play attacking cricket in Group D.

They qualified for being in the top 8 of the ICC T20 World Cup 2022 played in Australia. Sri Lanka made it to the Super 12 stage after finishing top of the qualifying round.

Sri Lanka has a quality batting lineup including Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanaka, and Kamindu Mendis who can change the course of the match. They would look at their bowling to stem the flow of runs against top-quality batters. Hasranga will look to weave their magic with a good display of bowling and keep the pressure on opponent batters.

Sri Lanka Squad For T20 World Cup 2024:

Wanindu Hasranga (c), Charith Asalanaka (vc), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Mahesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellage, Dushamanta Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, and Dilshan Madushanka.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts