Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: SWOT Analysis Of Team India

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: SWOT Analysis Of Team India

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: SWOT Analysis Of Team India
Team India Image: Cricfit

The Indian cricket team, led by captain Rohit Sharma, has landed in the United States and is preparing for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024. The competition begins on June 1st, with India’s first match against Ireland scheduled for June 5th at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York.

The squad has a formidable batting lineup that includes veterans like Virat Kohli and the in-form Suryakumar Yadav, as well as promising young players like Yashasvi Jaiswal. The bowling arsenal is led by the deadly speed combo of Arshdeep Singh and Jasprit Bumrah and is supported by the spin prowess of Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Ravindra Jadeja.

With a decade-long drought of ICC trophies in their sights, Team India is brimming with motivation. There’s a fantastic chance to make history at the next T20 World Cup in the US and the Caribbean. For Indian cricket fans, the wait for another ICC trophy is still ongoing. With the T20 World Cup in 2024 rapidly approaching, all eyes will be on the Men in Blue. To find out what lies ahead, let’s do a SWOT analysis to examine the team’s composition in more detail.


Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli Image: Cricfit

Virat Kohli, the previous captain of India, has dominated the T20 World Cup with his outstanding run-chase efforts. The Indian cricket team’s strength in the T20I format is their batting department. The best T20I batsman in the world, Suryakumar Yadav, can win games in the shortest version of the game on his own. Meanwhile, players like Shivam Dube, Sanju Samson, and Rishabh Pant have experience in the IPL before competing in the forthcoming ICC event.

Jasprit Bumrah, who was injured and was unable to compete in the 2022 T20 World Cup, will lead India’s bowling unit. Those who have improved with the ball in hand over the existing IPL season, such as Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, and Axar Patel, will be a great complement to his ability to consistently bowl quality overs in all phases of innings.


Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah Image: Cricfit

In the T20 format, finishers are crucial, and India appears deficient in that area for the 2024 World Cup. In the Indian Premier League, players like Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, and Shivam Dube all bat in the top five for their respective teams. Hardik Pandya, on the other hand, has recently chosen to bat higher up the order and has struggled to get going right away.

About India’s bowling, it was unexpected that the management chose just four potent spin alternatives and three pacers—Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Arshdeep Singh. Taking 20 wickets in 13 innings at a noteworthy economy rate of 6.48, Bumrah did what he does best in the IPL 2024.

However, Arshdeep claimed 19 wickets at an economy rate of more than 10, and Siraj claimed 15 wickets in 14 innings. With so few bowling options available to them, India would be in big danger if Bumrah is unable to maintain his scorching form during the World Cup.


Ruturaj Gaikwad Yashasvi Jaiswal
Photo: BCCI

Yashasvi Jaiswal is predicted to bat at the top of the order in the Indian playing XI for the T20 World Cup in 2024. This will present a tremendous opportunity for the left-handed hitter to make a significant impact. The Indian cricket team may need Shivam Dube to regularly score above-par totals in the 2024 ICC competition, which is scheduled to take place in the USA and the Caribbean, because of his reputation for power-hitting against the spinners in the middle overs.


Indian cricket team
Indian cricket team Image: Cricifit

One of the biggest obstacles to the Indian cricket team’s efforts to end the drought could be the strain of expectations from not having won an ICC trophy in over a decade. India sputtered their way to the semi-final of the last T20 World Cup 2022, but under duress, they decided to play defensive, which England took advantage of to humiliate them and chase the 169-run total without losing a wicket.


Rohit Sharma (C), Hardik Pandya (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Siraj, and Jasprit Bumrah.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts