Home Cricket News ICC T20 World Cup 2024: West Indies Announce Strong Squad For The Marquee Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: West Indies Announce Strong Squad For The Marquee Event

ICC T20 World Cup 2024: West Indies Announce Strong Squad For The Marquee Event
T20 WC 2024

The Co-Hosts West Indies named a strong 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 to be played in West Indies and the United States of America from 2nd June onwards.

Rovman Powell would lead the side and hope to play attacking cricket in front of the home crowd. The batting unit looks strong with the likes of Brandon King, Johnson Charles, Shai Hope, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetymer, and Nicolas Pooran who can change the course of the match with their power-hitting.

Andre Russell, Romario Shephard, Akeal Hossein, and Jason Holder would comprise of all-rounders who can do the job for West Indies. Shamar Joseph would be making his debut in the prestigious tournament. Jason Holder, Russell, Romario Shephard, and Alazzari Joseph would comprise the pace bowling options.

Akeal Hossein and Gudakesh Motie would comprise spin bowling options. Roston Chase could do the job as another spin bowler who can trouble the batters with his bowling.

West Indies Schedule for ICC T20 World Cup 2024

The Co-hosts West Indies have been clubbed with Papua New Guinea, New Zealand, Afghanistan, and debutants Uganda. They would begin their World Cup journey against Papua New Guinea on 2nd June at Providence Stadium, Guyana. West Indies will then face debutant Uganda on 8th June 2024 at Guyana.

West Indies will face New Zealand to be played on 12th June at Brian Lara Cricket Academy. The Co-hosts would finish their league stages against Afghanistan on 17th June at Darren Sammy Stadium, Gros Islet, St Lucia.

The two-time World Champions West Indies would be looking to play attacking cricket in front of their home crowd. West Indies failed to qualify from the first round during the 2022 edition of World T20 losing to Scotland, and Ireland.

West Indies T20 World Cup squad:

Johnson Charles, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetymer, Rovman Powell (C), Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hossein, Brandon King, Gudakesh Motie, Nicholas Pooran, Shamar Joseph, Andre Russell, Sherfane Rutherford, Romario Shepherd, Alazzari Joseph.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts