Home Cricket News IND vs NZ 2021, 1st Test: Watch- Shreyas Iyer Receives His Test...

IND vs NZ 2021, 1st Test: Watch- Shreyas Iyer Receives His Test Cap From Sunil Gavaskar

Shreyas Iyer Test Cap
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Shreyas Iyer is all set to make his Test debut in the first Test in Kanpur against New Zealand. An injury to KL Rahul meant that it was Iyer who was chosen to replace him in the XI. However, it was Suryakumar Yadav who was roped in as his replacement but Iyer got the nod ahead of him.

In a video shared by the BCCI Twitter handle, former Indian skipper and batting legend Sunil Gavaskar is seen handing over the cap to Shreyas Iyer. He is the 249th Indian male cricketer to play a Test match on home soil.

Shreyas Iyer: India’s 303rd Test Cricketer

It was India who won the toss and opted to bat first. Ajinkya Rahane is leading the team in the absence of Virat Kohli. The batting line-up is also without Rohit Sharma, Kohli, Rahul and Pant.

“Looking to bat first. Pitch looks really good. Generally slows down later on here. It’s an opportunity for all of us here to do well here and in Mumbai. Few of the senior guys are missing. So it’s an opportunity for the youngsters. Shreyas is making his debut. We are all excited to play under the new coaching staff. I personally enjoy playing under Rahul bhai. New Zealand are a quality side. 3 spinners, 2 seamers” said Rahane after winning the toss.

Kane Williamson returns after missing the T20Is. Along with him, Ross Taylor also returns to the side.

“We would have batted first as well. But we got the ball in hand first, so it’s important we get some early wickets. Looking forward to this challenge. It’s mixed (the elbow injury), but it’s okay. Ajaz Patel and Will Somerville have done well previously. We are going in with two spinners, two pacers and a spinning all-rounder debut in Rachin Ravindra” he said at the toss.

Playing XI


Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Shreyas Iyer, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav

New Zealand

Tom Latham, Will Young, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Tom Blundell(w), Rachin Ravindra, Tim Southee, Ajaz Patel, Kyle Jamieson, William Somerville

Get the latest update on T20 World Cup and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.