India and Sri Lanka name squad for upcoming T20I series: BCCI announced India squad on Monday for the upcoming bilateral T20 International series between the subcontinent neighbours. Sri Lanka are set to tour India next week ahead of the Asia Cup and the World T20.

Indian batting Star and No.1 batsman in ICC T20I rankings has been rested for the 3-match series starting from February 9. First match is scheduled to play in Pune, following matches in Ranchi and Visakhapatnam on February 12 and 14 respectively. The right-handed batting spearhead for India has been given some break to keep him fresh for the Asia Cup this February end just before the World T20.

Pawan Negi, who was impressive for Chennai Super Kings in the last few seasons of Indian Premier League, received a maiden call-up. The left-arm spinner has also done commendable job in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy and Vijay Hazare trophy.

India vs Sri Lanka

Virat Kohli rested; Dinesh Chandimal will lead the highly inexperienced side in absense of Malinga

India Squad: MS Dhoni (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi.

Meanwhile, Sri Lanka have rested plenty of key players for the series, including T20 captain Lasith Malinga, Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara and Nuwan Pradeep.

Dinesh Chandimal will lead the highly inexperienced side. Veteran fast bowler Dilhara Fernando returns to the Sri Lankan squad.

Sri Lanka Squad: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Seekuge Prasanna, Milinda Siriwardana, Danushka Gunathilaka, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Asela Gunaratne, Chamara Kapugedera, Dushmantha Chameera, Dilhara Fernando, Kasun Rajitha, Binura Fernando, Sachithra Senanayake, Jeffrey Vandersay