Home Cricket News India Announces Women’s T20 Squad For The Commonwealth Games 2022

India Announces Women’s T20 Squad For The Commonwealth Games 2022

India Announces Women’s T20 Squad For The Commonwealth Games 2022
Photo: BCCI Women, Twitter

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the Indian women’s team squad on Monday, July 11 for the upcoming Commonwealth Games that will take place in Birmingham. Harmanpreet Kaur will be leading the 15-member squad in the event, while Smriti Mandhana will be her deputy. The Women’s T20 cricket will be making its debut at the Commonwealth Games this year. Earlier, the men’s teams played an ODI tournament at the 1998 Kuala Lumpur Commonwealth Games.

Wicket-keeper Taniyaa Bhatia and batter Harleen Deol have been included in the Indian squad. Taniyaa hasn’t played a T20I match since the World Cup final against Australia in 2020. On the other hand, Harleen featured in the three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka but wasn’t part of the T20Is. Another notable inclusion is Sneh Rana, who was out due to an injury.

The BCCI has named Richa Ghosh, Simran Bahadur, and Poonam Yadav as the standby for the quadrennial event. The Indian team will be heading into the Commonwealth Games 2022 on the back of a 2-1 T20I series win over Sri Lanka in Dambulla.

Team India squad and schedule for the CWG 2022

Eight teams will be participating in the Commonwealth Games 2022 this year. India is in Group A alongside Australia, Pakistan, and Barbados. They will begin their campaign on July 29 against Australia at the Edgbaston in Birmingham. July 31 will witness the clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan. India will be playing their final league match against Barbados on August 3.

Squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Sabbhineni Meghana, Taniyaa Bhatia (wk), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana

Standby players: Richa Ghosh, Simran Bahadur, Poonam Yadav

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts