Home Cricket News India Captain Rohit Sharma Lands In West Indies Ahead Of T20I Series

India Captain Rohit Sharma Lands In West Indies Ahead Of T20I Series

India Captain Rohit Sharma Lands In West Indies Ahead Of T20I Series
Rohit Sharma (Credit: Twitter)

Team India captain Rohit Sharma has landed in West Indies for the upcoming five-match T20I series, which gets underway on July 29. He was accompanied by wicketkeeper-batters Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant. The series will get underway at the Brian Lara Stadium in Trinidad.

Incidentally, Rohit, Karthik, and Rishabh were rested from the ongoing three-match ODI series against Nicholas Pooran and Co. after a gruelling tour of England. Hardik Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah, Virat Kohli were also rested from the series. While Hardik is yet to join the squad, Kohli and Bumrah will miss the T20I leg as well.

Both Rohit and Pant shared pics of their arrival in Trinidad. While Pant shared a picture from the plane saying, “Hello Trinidad” on his Instagram story, Rohit shared an image from the airport.


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Rohit Sharma (@rohitsharma45)

India cricketers check into team hotel ahead of T20Is

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) shared a small clip on their official social media handles where the cricketers were seen checking into the team hotel ahead of the five T20Is.

Along with Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, and Dinesh Karthik, spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Kuldeep Yadav, all-rounder Harshal Patel and Bhuvneshwar Kumar also joined the squad. The BCCI captioned the video as:

“The T20I squad members have arrived here in Trinidad. The 5-match T20I series is all set to commence on July 29. #WIvIND #TeamIndia.”

The first T20I is scheduled to take place on July 29 at the Brian Lara Stadium, before two games in St Kitts on August 1 and 2. The final two games will be played at Lauderhill in Florida in the USA, on August 6 and 7.

India squad for T20Is: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul*, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Shreyas Iyer, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, R Ashwin, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh.

*subject to fitness

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts