Home Cricket News India To Tour West Indies For Three ODIs and Five T20Is

India To Tour West Indies For Three ODIs and Five T20Is

India West Indies
India and West Indies players shake hands (Credit: BCCI)

The limited-overs series between India and West Indies is likely to begin on July 22. The tour comprises three One-Day Internationals and five Twenty20Is in Trinidad and St Kitts and Nevis before winding up the tour in the US.

Cricbuzz published details about the tour in their report. The three One-day internationals will take place on July 22, 24, and 27 at the Queens Park Oval in Trinidad. This will be followed by the first of the five T20 internationals.

The newly-built Brian Charles Lara Stadium will host the first T20I on July 29. The second and the third T20I will take place on August 1 and 2 at the Warner Park in St Kitts and Nevis.

While the majority of the tour will be hosted by the Caribbean Islands, the final two T20Is will take place in the US. Fort Lauderdale, Florida, will host the fourth and fifth T20Is on August 6 and 7. An official from Cricket West Indies (CWI) shared his thoughts on the tour’s schedule.

“Those are the dates and the schedule will be announced once the clearance from the US comes. We are waiting for the sanctioning from the US,” a CWI official said to Cricbuzz. 

Indian team to leave for Trinidad on July 18

The Indian team will be playing a test, three T20I, and as many ODIs, before the West Indies tour in the UK. They will reach the UK, via Ireland, where they are scheduled to play two ODIs, in Dublin. The Indian team will reach in two batches, one consisting of the Test specialists.

They are expected to leave for Ireland and England on June 20. Following the completion of the tour, the Indian team will leave for Trinidad on July 18. “The India series is still about three months away but medical protocols will have to be adhered to as needed,” said the CWI official about the Covid-19 protocols during the tour.

India’s tour of West Indies, 2022 likely schedule

First ODI: July 22, Queens Park Oval in Trinidad

Second ODI: July 24, Queens Park Oval in Trinidad

Third ODI: July 27, Queens Park Oval in Trinidad

First T20I: July 29, Brian Charles Lara Stadium, Trinidad and Tobago

Second T20I: August 1, Warner Park in St Kitts and Nevis

Third T20I: August 2, Warner Park in St Kitts and Nevis

Fourth T20I: August 6, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Fifth T20: August 7, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.