Home Cricket News Indian Cricketers Mithali Raj & Shikhar Dhawan Honoured With National Sports Awards

Indian Cricketers Mithali Raj & Shikhar Dhawan Honoured With National Sports Awards

Mithali Raj-Shikhar Dhawan

Indian cricketers Mithali Raj and Shikhar Dhawan were conferred at the Rashtrapati Bhawan alongside other Indian sportspersons on Saturday. While Mithali Raj won the Major Dhyanchand Khel Ratna, Dhawan was awarded the Arjuna Award by President Ram Nath Kovind. The Union Ministry had earlier released a list of sportspersons who were to be awarded on the prestigious night. Both the Indian cricketers were on that list.

While Shikhar Dhawan have been a part of many memorable Indian victories and played a part in them, Mithali Raj tops the run-scoring charts in ODI & T20I cricket. She made her debut in 1999 and her career spans over two decades now.

Mithali has so far represented India in 11 Tests, 215 ODIs and 89 T20Is so far in her career. Raj has scored a combined 10,203 runs across formats including eight centuries and 77 half-centuries.

Mithali has also reacted to her winning the prestigious award by releasing a statement.

“Today I am honoured, proud and fortunate to be a part of Indian cricket. This journey has been arduous but bot without the support of my mentors, family, friends and senior who paved the way for all of us and my teammaytes” read a part of her statement.

Mithali Raj Releases Statement After Historic Achievement

Meanwhile, Shikhar Dhawan was nominated by the BCCI for the prestigious awards along with his fellow opener Rohit Sharma. “Shikhar has been consistently scoring at the top and his performances in the ICC events have been significant,” Ganguly said on the southpaw’s nomination.

Shikhar was a part of the Indian squad that won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. That was when he and Rohit Sharma started opening the batting for India. With time, they became one of the most feared opening pairs in world cricket.

Neeraj Chopra, Mithali Raj Among Indian Sports Achievers Honoured In Dazzling Ceremony

Apart from the two cricketers, Indian athlete Neeraj Chopra was also awarded the Khel Ratna award from the President. Chopra had won the gold medal for India earlier this year in Tokyo Olympics 2020.

Get the latest update on T20 World Cup and other cricket news. Like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.