Home Uncategorized Indian Women’s Cricket Team Qualify Directly For T20 World Cup 2024

Indian Women’s Cricket Team Qualify Directly For T20 World Cup 2024

Indian Women’s Cricket Team Qualify Directly For T20 World Cup 2024

Harmanpreet Kaur led Team India was one of the sides that directly made it into the 2024 T20 World Cup to be played in Bangladesh. India finished 2nd in Group 2 winning 3 matches and losing just 1 against England. They progressed into the semi-finals giving a tough fight to eventual champions Australia.

The top three teams in each group of the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2023 progressed directly into the next year’s tournament.

Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa qualified directly from Group 1 while India, England, and West Indies made it through from Group 2. Hosts Bangladesh and Pakistan made it outside the top six direct qualifiers.

Sri Lanka and Ireland are the teams that have not made it into the T20 World Cup in 2024 directly. A global qualifying tournament early in 2024 will decide the top two remaining spots.

Performances of Top 6 direct qualifiers:


Australia won the T20 World Cup title for a record sixth time defeating South Africa by 19 runs in the finals at Newlands, Cape Town. They remained unbeaten in the tournament finishing top of Group 1 winning against New Zealand, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and South Africa. Meg Lanning’s side was given a scare before holding onto their nerves to win the match by 5 runs. Australia won the finals by 19 runs to win the title for a record sixth time.

New Zealand

New Zealand had a disappointing outing being outplayed in the first two matches against Australia and South Africa. They displayed dominating wins over Bangladesh and New Zealand to stay alive in the tournament but due to less run rate, White Ferns could not qualify for the semi-finals.

South Africa

South Africa performed brilliantly in the entire tournament. They suffered a shocking loss to Sri Lanka in the opening match but then showed a great fight to defeat New Zealand by a huge margin. Then they lost to Australia in their 3rd Group match. The hosts displayed dominating display to defeat Bangladesh qualifying for the semi-finals.

South Africa stunned England in the semi-finals by 6 runs to make it into their first-ever finals on a global stage.

Richa Ghosh only Indian included in ICC Team of the tournament
Team India

Group 2


England had a dream run in the league stage defeating West Indies, Ireland, India, and Pakistan by a comprehensive margin.

They were stunned by South Africa in the semi-finals by just 6 runs to be knocked out of the tournament.


India began their tournament with 7 wickets win thrilling win over Pakistan. They then defeated West indies with another dominating display.

They suffered a close-fought loss to England before getting past spirited Ireland by 5 runs via the DLS method to qualify for the semi-finals.

India suffered a heartbreaking loss to eventual champions Australia by just 5 runs in the first semi-finals.

West Indies

West Indies finished third in the points table. They suffered losses against England and Ireland before defeating Ireland and Pakistan in a thrilling encounter to qualify for the 2024 T20 World Cup directly.

Hayley Mathews was the top scorer for West Indies in the tournament.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts