Home Cricket News INDvNZ : Team India look to break the jinx in T20I against...

INDvNZ : Team India look to break the jinx in T20I against New Zeland

Team India would look to break the jinx of not winning a single T20I when they face New Zealand in the first T20I to played at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, New Delhi tomorrow. It promises to be an exciting first T20I as Ashish Nehra will be playing his last international match at his home ground. India has played 5 T20Is against New Zealand and lost every time.

The Indian team has included 2 youngsters in the form of Sheryas Iyer who has performed in the domestic circuit and Mohammed Siraj. Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan is top quality openers and would open the innings for the hosts. Captain Kohli showed great class in the ODI series, looking to improve his poor record at his home ground. Either Iyer or Manish Pandey could be given a chance debut because of his power-hitting abilities.

Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh, Hardik Pandya would be my number 5,6, 7. Both players can change the course of the game. Dhoni has not performed in T20Is for quite some, would be looking to play with positive intent. Pandya did not have a great ODI series and needs to bat with a lot of freedom.

Axar Patel or Kuldeep must give a chance at number 8. In the bowling department, it will be interesting to see if Ashish Nehra would be given the farewell game. Jasprit Bumrah the number 1 ranked bowler in T20I would be my pacers for the first game.

Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav would be my spinners for the first T20I. It will be the best combination for team India.

New Zealand has a strong batting line up consisting of aggressive openers Martin Guptill, Colin Munro. Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Collin de Grandhomme, Glenn Philps would be my batting order which could trouble the Indian bowlers.

In the pace bowling department, Tim Southee and Trent Boult could trouble the Indian batsmen. Mitchell Santer and Ish Sodhi would be spin bowling options.

The Indian team has not played any T20I match at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium while New Zealand has played 1 T20I. India needs to play positive cricket to break the record of not winning a T20I match against New Zealand who gave a tough fight to the Indian team in ODI series.

India Probable XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer/KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni (WK), Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra.

New Zealand Probable XI: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Collin de Grandhomme, Glenn Philps, Mitchell Santer, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult, Tim Southee.