Home Cricket News INDvSL: Dinesh Chandimal & Mathews leads Sri Lanka fightback on day 3

INDvSL: Dinesh Chandimal & Mathews leads Sri Lanka fightback on day 3


Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal and Mathews partnership ensured visitors comeback on the 3rd day of the 3rd test match at Feroz Shah Kotla, New Delhi. Mathews scored his first century in 2 years. Indian bowlers made a strong comeback in the final session taking 5 wickets.

Starting on the overnight score of 131 for 3, Indian fast bowlers Mohammad Shami and Ishant Sharma bowled consistent line troubling both overnight batsmen. After the opening spell, both Sri Lankan experienced players looked in great touch. Captain Dinesh Chandimal reached his half-century off 145 balls. Despite some good bowling and not giving many runs, Sri Lanka went into the lunch break at 192 for 3.

In the second session, the Indian captain Kohli took the second new ball. Mathews was dropped by Rohit Sharma on 98. Mathews then completed his first century off 231 balls. His partnership with Captain Dinesh Chandimal frustrated the Indian team. Chandimal also played with good intent. Mathews was dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin for well-made 111. Both the experienced players put on 181 runs for the fourth wicket. Sadeera came to the crease and looked aggressive. Sri Lanka ended the second session at 270 for 4.

The third session saw Dinesh Chandimal complete his 10th test century off 265 balls. Sadeera continued to be positive and put on 61 runs for the 5th wicket with captain Chandimal. Sadeera was caught brilliantly by Wriddhiman Saha. Ishant Sharma took Sadeera wicket. Ravichandran Ashwin then dismissed debutant Roshan Silva and Dickwella for 0. Mohammad Shami dismissed Lakmal while Ravindra Jadeja took the wicket of Gamage. Dinesh Chandimal is still not out on 147. The Sri Lankan team went past follow mark.

R Ashwin picked 3 wickets while Jadeja, Ishant Sharma, and Mohammad Shami picked 2 wickets each.

Sri Lanka 356 for 9 in 130 overs ( Dinesh Chandimal 147*, Mathews 111, Ashwin 3/90, Mohammad Shami 2/74) trail India 536 for 7d in 127.5 overs ( Kohli 243, Vijay 155, Rohit Sharma 65, Sandkan 4/167) by 180 runs.

Latest Posts