Home INDvSL INDvSL: Rohit destroys Sri Lanka as India win T20I series with great...

INDvSL: Rohit destroys Sri Lanka as India win T20I series with great authority

(Pic Source: BCCI/ICC)

India produced a dominating display in the second T20I played at Holkar Stadium, Indore. Sri Lankan captain won the toss and elected to field first. Rohit Sharma 118, KL Rahul 89 put on 165 runs for the 1st wicket off 12.4 overs. India posted a massive total of 260 for 5 in 20 overs. Chasing this target, Kusal Perera and Tharanga showed some fight but lost wickets at regular intervals to be bowled out for 172.

Sri Lankan captain Thisara Perera won the toss and invited India into bat again. Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul started slowly in the first 4 overs, scoring just 26 runs. Then both batsmen smashed the Sri Lankan bowlers with great batting display by Indian captain Rohit Sharma. At the end of six overs, India posted 59 runs. Captain Rohit Sharma reached his half-century off 23 balls. He continued to create pressure hitting big sixes. In the 12th over, Sharma hit the joint fastest century in T20I cricket off 35 balls.

Rohit Sharma was dismissed for 118 off 43 balls with 12 fours and 10 sixes. KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma put on the highest opening stand in T20I cricket. Both of them added 165 runs in just 12.4 overs. MS Dhoni was promoted to number 3. KL Rahul reached his half-century off 35 balls. Both MS Dhoni and KL Rahul continue to punish the Sri Lankan bowlers. In 19th over, KL Rahul was dismissed for 89 runs. MS Dhoni and KL Rahul added 78 runs for the second wicket. India lost quick wickets in the death overs.

India scored a mammoth total of 260 for 5 in 20 overs. Thisara Perera and Nuwan Pradeep picked 2 wickets each.

Chasing the huge score of 261, Sri Lankan openers Dickwella and Tharanga gave the team a good start putting on 36 runs for the first wicket off 4.3 overs. Dickwella was dismissed by Unadkat for 25 off 19 balls. At the end of six overs, Sri Lanka scored 60 for 1. Kusal Perera and Upul Tharanga played with positive intent smashing sixes with ease. Perera completed his half-century off 26 balls. Both of them put on 109 runs for the second wicket. Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed Tharanga 47 runs.

After the fall of Tharanga wicket, Sri Lanka lost wickets at regular intervals. Kuldeep Yadav took 3 wickets in an over dismissing Kusal Perera, Captain Thisara Perera and Gunaratne which shifted the momentum to India.

Chahal continued his good form taking 4 more wickets giving away 52 runs. Kuldeep Yadav also finished with 3 wickets. Hardik Pandya picked the final wicket to end the match as Mathews did not come to bat because of an injury. Sri Lanka was bowled out for 172 in 17.2 overs. India won the series the match by 88 runs and take a 2-0 lead in the series.

India 260 for 5 in 20 overs ( Rohit Sharma 118, KL Rahul 89, Thisara Perera 2/49, Nuwan Pradeep 2/61) beat Sri Lanka 172 in 17.2 overs ( Kusal Perera 77, Tharanga 47, Yuzvendra Chahal 4/52, Kuldeep Yadav 3/52) by 88 runs.

Captain Thisara Perera said: It was too much to chase. Mathews has been ruled out the series. We could not execute and India played some brilliant cricket.

Captain and Man of the match Rohit Sharma said: The pitch was good to bat on. I was trying hit through the line and came off really well. Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep bowled with great control taking wickets which changed the course of the game. Any target on this ground is not defendable.

India takes the series 2-0. The final match would be held on 24th December at Mumbai.