Home Cricket News IPL 2021 Auction: List Of Players Who Went Unsold

IPL 2021 Auction: List Of Players Who Went Unsold

IPL 2021 Auction: List Of Players Who Went Unsold
(Credit: IPL)

The IPL 2021 auction in Chennai was one of the most eventful auctions in history with players bagging huge prices. While it made fulfilled the dreams of many cricketers, the auction room also shattered quite a few dreams as franchises showed no interest in some players who remained unsold.

There were 61 slots to be filled at the most, and remarkably, 57 were filled. Every team has exhausted their overseas quota too, so there are 8 overseas players on each side. On the other hand, only Rajasthan Royals (24) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (22) have not hit the 25-player limit.

A couple of players attracted massive prices from the franchises. To put that in perspective the total spend by franchises was 145.3 crore. So almost 50% of the total spend was on 5 players who were expensive buys, the rest was on 52 players.

As usual Glenn Maxwell triggered an intense bidding war. Eventually, Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore secured his services for a mammoth amount of ₹14.25. Surprisingly, Proteas all-rounder Chris Morris was the highest earner of the IPL 2021 auction and in the history ever. Rajasthan Royals secured his services for a staggering ₹16.25 crores.

While some players broke the ban, many failed to even attract sole bidders. The most prominent being Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Mitchell McLenaghan, Glenn Phillips, Alex Carey, Evin Lewis, to name a few. On that note, we take a look at players, who remained unsold in IPL 2021 auction.

Also Read: IPL 2021: Complete Squads Of All Eight Franchises

Here’s a complete list of players who went unsold in the IPL 2021 Auction:


  • Alex Hales (England)
  • Jason Roy (England)
  • Evin Lewis (West Indies)
  • Aaron Finch (Australia)
  • Hanuma Vihari (India)
  • Himanshu Rana (India)
  • Rahul Gahlaut (India)
  • Himmat Singh (India)
  • Vishnu Solanki (India)
  • Rovman Powell (West Indies)
  • Shaun Marsh (Australia)
  • Corey Anderson (New Zealand)
  • Devon Conway (New Zealand)
  • Darren Bravo (West Indies)
  • Martin Guptill (New Zealand)
  • Rassie van der Dussen (South Africa)
  • Siddhesh Lad (India)

Also Read: Top 5 Best Buys Of IPL 2021 Auction


  • Adil Rashid (England)
  • Sheldon Cottrell (West Indies)
  • Mitchell McLenaghan (New Zealand)
  • Rahul Sharma (India)
  • Ish Sodhi (New Zealand)
  • Qais Ahmed (Afghanistan)
  • Mujtaba Yousuf (India)
  • Ankit Rajpoot (India)
  • Kuldeep Sen (India)
  • Tushar Deshpande (India)
  • Karanveer Singh (India)
  • Sandeep Lamichhane (Nepal)
  • Midhun Sudesan (India)
  • Tejas Baroka (India)
  • Oshane Thomas (West Indies)
  • Mohit Sharma (India)
  • Billy Stanlake (Australia)
  • Jason Behrendorff (Australia)
  • Naveen-ul-Haq (Afghanistan)
  • Ben Dwarshuis (Australia)
  • G. Periyasamy (India)
  • Sean Abbott (Australia)
  • Simarjeet Singh (India)
  • Reece Topley (England)


  • Atit Seth (India)
  • Ayush Badoni (India)
  • Vivek Singh (India)
  • Gurkeerat Singh (India)
  • Marnus Labuschagne (Australia)
  • Karan Sharma (India)
  • Thisara Perera (Sri Lanka)
  • T Dhillon (India)
  • Prerak Mankad (India)
  • Scott Kuggeleijn (New Zealand)
  • Wayne Parnell (South Africa)
  • Chris Green (Australia)
  • Isuru Udana (Sri Lanka)
  • George Linde (South Africa)
  • Chaitanya Bishnoi (India)
  • Ajay Dev Goud (India)
  • Jack Wildermuth (Australia)
  • Harsh Tyagi (India)
  • Gerald Coetzee (South Africa)
  • Tim David (Singapore)
  • Pratyush Singh (India)


  • Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)
  • Kusal Perera (Sri Lanka)
  • Alex Carey (Australia)
  • Kedar Devdhar (India)
  • Avi Barot (India)
  • K.L Shrijith (India)
  • Ben McDermott (Australia)
  • Matthew Wade (Australia)
  • Josh Inglis (Australia)

Latest Posts