Home Cricket News IPL 2022: Complete List Of Retained Players Of All 8 Franchises

IPL 2022: Complete List Of Retained Players Of All 8 Franchises

IPL 2022: Complete List Of Retained Players Of All 8 Franchises
Photo: IPL

The IPL 2022 retentions are now over with a total of 27 players being retained by the existing eight franchises. There were a total of 19 Indian players and nine overseas players in the list. While there were expected players retained, there were some surprising exclusions as well. The franchises spent a total of 269 crores overall on retaining the 27 players.

Rashid Khan and Yuzvendra Chahal catch up | Photo | Global | ESPNcricinfo.com

SRH decided to release Rashid Khan, their most prized player in the last three to four years. RCB, meanwhile decided to release who is their most successful bowler. Punjab Kings released KL Rahul after he expressed his desire of going back to the auction pool. Harshal Patel. who won the Purple Cap for RCB iN IPL 2021 was also not retained. 

Venkatesh Iyer To Umran Malik 5 Young Players Who Performed Well In Ipl 2021 - आईपीएल 2021: वेंकटेश अय्यर से लेकर उमरान मलिक तक, इस सीजन में कमाल करने वाले 5 युवा

Some notable retention of youngsters includes Venkatesh Iyer for KKR, Arshadeep Singh for PBKS and Umran Malik for SRH. Punjab Kings have retaine the fewest of players (2). They are looking to rebuild a team in the upcoming auctions. Rajasthan Royals hav retained just three with one U-19 player. 

IPL 2022: List Of Retained Players By Each Team 

Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moeen Ali, Ruturaj Gaikwad

Delhi Capitals (DC): Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, Anrich Nortje

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): Andre Russell, Varun Chakravarthy, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine

Mumbai Indians (MI): Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard

Punjab Kings (PBKS): Mayank Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): Kane Williamson, Abdul Samad, Umran Malik

Rajasthan Royals (RR): Sanju Samson, Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammed Siraj

According to the rules laid by the BCCI, each existing team was allowed to retain up to four players. The four players could include, two Indians and two overseas, or three Indians and one overseas. The teams were allowed to retain two uncapped players. Each team was allocated a salary purse of 90 crores, however, after retaining four players Mumbai Indians has a remaining salary purse of 48 crores. The mega-auctions are likely to be held in December this year.

The Indian Premier League 2022 mega-auctions are likely to take place in December this year. According to reports, the auctions will be the last ever mega-auctions of the tournament.

Purse Remaining For Each Team After Retention

  1. Punjab Kings – Rs 72 crore
  2. SunRisers Hyderabad – Rs 68 crore
  3. Rajasthan Royals – Rs 62 crore
  4. Royal Challengers Bangalore – Rs 57 crore
  5. Chennai Super Kings – Rs 48 crore
  6. Kolkata Knight Riders – Rs 48 crore
  7. Mumbai Indians – Rs 48 crore
  8. Delhi Capitals – Rs 47.5 crore

Get the latest cricket news and like us on Facebook for more such content.


Latest Posts