Home Cricket News IPL 2022: Mumbai Indians Likely To Miss Suryakumar Yadav In Campaign Opener vs DC

IPL 2022: Mumbai Indians Likely To Miss Suryakumar Yadav In Campaign Opener vs DC

IPL 2022: Mumbai Indians Likely To Miss Suryakumar Yadav In Campaign Opener vs DC
Suryakumar Yadav (Credit: BCCI)

Five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians (MI) are likely to miss star batsman Suryakumar Yadav in their IPL 2022 opener against Delhi Capitals on March 27. Suryakumar was one of the four cricketers retained by the franchise ahead of the auction.

The 31-year-old cricketer is yet to fully recover from a hairline fracture on his thumb he suffered during the West Indies series. It forced him to miss the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka last month, which is expected to keep him out of Mumbai’s first game in IPL 2022.

A report in PTI quoted a senior BCCI official on condition of anonymity:

“Surya is currently at the NCA doing his rehabilitation. He is well on his way to recovery but there is a possibility that his participation in the opening game will be a real touch and go affair.”

The report added:

“So there could be a possibility that he might be advised by the board’s medical team to not risk playing the opener. I think by the second MI game, he would be 100 per cent match fit. It is likely to be more of a precautionary measure if he doesn’t play the first game.”

The celebrated cricketer was also a part of the recent camp, organised at the NCA for white-ball specialists keeping in view the T20 World Cup, slated to take place later this year in Australia.

However, Suryakumar Yadav is expected to recover ahead of Mumbai’s second game against Rajasthan Royals, slated to take place on April 2.

The right-handed batsman has been one of Mumbai’s consistent run-scorers in the last few years. Suryakumar Yadav run-scoring spree also earned him a place in the national squad.

Mumbai Indians Squad for IPL 2022

Rohit Sharma & Co boasts a strong squad for the 15th edition of the cash-rich league with good mix of young and experienced cricketers.

Rohit Sharma (C), Jasprit Bumrah, Suryakumar Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Ishan Kishan, Dewald Brevis, Basil Thampi, M Ashwin, Jaydev Unadkat, Mayank Markande, N Tilak Varma, Sanjay Yadav, Jofra Archer, Daniel Sams, Tymal Mills, Tim David, Riley Meredith, Mohammad Arshad Khan, Anmolpreet Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Arjun Tendulkar, Fabian Allen, Aryan Juyal.

Get the latest cricket news here and like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts