Home Feature IPL 2023: 3 Records Broken Between Punjab Kings And Rajasthan Royals

IPL 2023: 3 Records Broken Between Punjab Kings And Rajasthan Royals

IPL 2023: 3 Records Broken Between Punjab Kings And Rajasthan Royals
IPL 2023

Punjab Kings stunned Rajasthan Royals in a high-scoring thriller played at Basapara Stadium, Guwahati on 5 April 2023 in the IPL 2023.

Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samson won the toss and decided to field first. Thanks to the brilliance of Prabhsimran Singh and Shikhar Dhawan’s unbeaten knock, Punjab Kings posted 197 for 4 in 20 overs.

Chasing 198 runs to win, Rajasthan Royals lost early wickets before Shimron Hetymer and Dhruv Juyal produced a special partnership before Sam Curran held onto his nerves to give Punjab Kings 5 runs win. With this win, PBKS moved to 2nd place in the points table.

Here we look at the 3 Records broken between Punjab Kings and Rajasthan Royals

  1. Sanju Samson broke Ajiyanka Rahane record

Rajasthan Royals captain Sanju Samson looked in great touch during yesterday’s match with 42 off 25 deliveries with 5 fours and 1 six. With this knock, Samson surpassed Ajiyanka Rahane to become the highest run scorer by Rajasthan Royals batter.

Samson has now 3128 runs for Rajasthan Royals from 118 matches (114 innings) with 2 centuries and 18 half-centuries to his name at a strike rate of 137.99. It was an impressive knock by Samson in yesterday’s match as Rajasthan Royals lost 3 quick wickets of Ashwin, Jaiswal, and Jos Buttler.

Ajiyanka Rahane moved to the number 2 spot with 3098 runs from 106 matches (99 innings) with 2 centuries and 21 half-centuries.

Best Playing 11 For Rajasthan Royals (RR) Ahead IPL 2023:
Rajasthan Royals (RR)
  1. Shikhar Dhawan broke David Warner’s record

Before yesterday’s match, Shikhar Dhawan and David Warner had the record for most IPL seasons with half-centuries among left-handed batters. Warner and Dhawan registered a half-century in 14 seasons each.

Punjab Kings captain Dhawan made an unbeaten 86 and has recorded a half-century in 15 different IPL seasons which is the highest by a left-handed batter. For his captain’s knock, Dhawan was named the Player of the Match award.

Virat Kohli achieved this feat in 15 different seasons of IPL and is the only batter to create this milestone.

  1. Shikhar Dhawan broke Virat Kohli’s record

Punjab Kings captain Shikhar Dhawan scored 50 plus scores in Indian Premier League history. He became the fastest batter to score this achievement during his 207th innings.

Dhawan achieved this feat in his 207th innings while Virat Kohli scored his 50-plus scores in IPL during 216th innings.

Dhawan looked slow initially as Prabhsirman Singh showed his class with power-game. PBKS captain Dhawan took the charge and helped them to post 197 for 4 remaining not out on 86.

Punjab Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore will face off on 20 April at PCA Stadium, Mohali in the afternoon game. It will be interesting to see who continues his brilliant form.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts