Home Feature IPL 2023: Top 10 Heated Moments Of Indian Premier League

IPL 2023: Top 10 Heated Moments Of Indian Premier League

IPL 2023: Top 10 Heated Moments Of Indian Premier League

The Indian Premier League has seen some memorable moments since its inception in 2008. Mumbai Indians won the prestigious IPL title 5 times, Chennai Super Kings 4 times, Kolkata Knight Riders twice, Rajasthan Royals Sunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers and Gujarat Titans once each.

Apart from these lovely moments in the prestigious league, it has seen many heated moments that have created trouble for the cricketers with their attitude.

Here we look at the Top 10 Heated Moments in IPL history.

  1. Virat Kohli vs Naveen UL Haq

Virat Kohli and Naveen UL Haq were involved in a heated argument after the match between Royal Challengers Bangalore versus Royal Challengers Bangalore played at Ekana Stadium, Lucknow on 1 May 2023.

The incident took place after Royal Challengers Bangalore defended the low total of 127. Virat Kohli shook hands with LSG teammates before Naveen UL Haq got angered which led to a fight.

It led to a 100 per cent fine for both Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli. Naveen UL Haq also was fined 50 per cent of match fees.

  1. MS Dhoni’s anger on the umpires

Chennai Super Kings captain MS Dhoni was involved in a heated argument during the 2019 edition of IPL. The incident took place between Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals at Sawai Man Singh Stadium, Jaipur.

MS Dhoni Pic Credit: Twitter
MS Dhoni Pic Credit: Twitter

MS Dhoni got angry after the umpires said no-ball first before denying the decision. MS Dhoni lost patience and went onto the field to discuss with the umpires. The match was eventually won by Chennai Super Kings thanks to Mitchell Santer and Ravindra Jadeja against Ben Stokes.

  1. Nitish Rana vs Hrithik Shokeen

Nitish Rana and Hrithik Shokeen were involved in a heated argument during match number 22 of IPL 2023 played at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

The incident took place after Hrithik Shokeen dismissed Nitish Rana caught. KKR captain Nitish Rana went with the exchange of words with his teammate Shokeen. Rana was very angry with the attitude of Shokeen.

Nitish Rana and Shokeen play together with each other for Delhi in the domestic team. Mumbai Indians won that match easily by 5 wickets.

  1. Gautam Gambhir vs Virat Kohli

Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli were involved in one of the most heated moments in IPL history. It took place between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kolkata Knight Riders played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on April 11 2013.

KKR captain Gambhir celebrated the wicket of Royal Challengers Bangalore as Virat Kohli was not happy with some words. It resulted in a heated argument with both Kohli and Gambhir. The umpires separated both Gambhir and Kohli after an ugly exchange of words.

Royal Challengers Bangalore won the match comfortably with 8 wickets remaining. Kohli made 35 off 27 deliveries.

  1. Harbhajan Singh vs Sreesanth

Harbhajan Singh and Sreesanth were involved in a heated argument. The incident took place during the 2008 edition of IPL. Harbhajan Singh featured for Mumbai Indians while Sreesanth played for Punjab Kings.

Harbhajan Singh Sreesanth
Harbhajan Singh opens up on slapping Sreesanth

The incident took place at PCA Stadium, Mohali on 25 April 2008. Mumbai Indians captain Harbhajan Singh lost his composure and slapped Sreesanth. Sreesanth was left in tears after Harbhajan Singh slapped him. He was seen hugging with Punjab Kings teammate.

  1. Kieron Pollard vs Mitchell Starc

Former West Indies batter Kieron Pollard and Australian pacer Mitchell Starc were involved in a heated argument on 6 May 2014. The incident took place between Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai.

Mitchell Starc threw the ball towards Kieron Pollard who backed the crease. Mitchell Starc had few words for Kieron Pollard that resulted in the West Indies batter throwing his bat towards Mitchell Starc.

Mumbai Indians won that match comfortably by 19 runs. It was rude behaviour by both Pollard and Starc.

  1. Sourav Ganguly vs Shane Warne

The heated argument took place between KKR captain Sourav Ganguly and Rajasthan Royals captain Shane Warne on May 1, 2008, at Sawai Man Singh Stadium, Jaipur. It happened less than a week before the Sreesanth and Harbhajan Singh slap gate incident.

The reason was following a catch given by the umpires as Ganguly was given out. Ganguly argued with the umpires which also resulted in Shane Warne joining the conservation. Rajasthan Royals won the match comfortably by 45 runs. Shane Warne eventually picked the wicket of Sourav Ganguly.

  1. Munaf Patel vs Amit Mishra

The incident took place between Deccan Chargers and Mumbai Indians on 24 April 2011 played at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. Amit Mishra played for Deccan Chargers while Munaf Patel featured for Mumbai Indians.

Amit Mishra

Amit Mishra hit two successive boundaries against Munaf Patel. The pace bowler Munaf lost his temper and had a verbal exchange with Amit Mishra. The umpire had to intervene to cool down the matter between Amit Mishra and Munaf Patel. Mumbai Indians won that match by 37 runs.

  1. Gambhir vs Dravid

Kolkata Knight Riders took on Rajasthan Royals at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on May 3 2013. The incident took place when Watson sledged Bisla as Gambhir reacted and Dravid intervened to end the matter, both Gambhir and Bisla started to abuse Rahul Dravid.

Kolkata Knight Riders won the match comfortably, there was heavy criticism of Gautam Gambhir for his on-field behaviour. Later Gambhir confessed that he did not disrespect Rahul Dravid during the incident.

  1. Harbhajan Singh vs Ambati Rayudu

Mumbai Indians teammates Harbhajan Singh and Ambati Rayudu were involved in a heated argument during the 2016 edition. The incident took place between Mumbai Indians and Rising Pune Super Giants.

Harbhajan Singh delivered the bowl to Saurabh Tiwary during the RPS innings. Harbhajan was not happy with the effort of Rayudu to stop the ball.

Rayudu tried but Harbhajan Singh was not happy with his efforts to stop the ball. Rayudu screamed at Harbhajan Singh. Singh stopped Ambati Rayudu and said that there is no need to stay sorry for that behaviour.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts