Home Cricket News IPL 2024: Pat Cummins Appointed Sunrisers Hyderabad Captain

IPL 2024: Pat Cummins Appointed Sunrisers Hyderabad Captain

IPL 2024: Pat Cummins Appointed Sunrisers Hyderabad Captain
Pat Cummins

Australian pacer Pat Cummins has been appointed as the captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad ahead of the 2024 Indian Premier League. He has had great success as Australia’s captain, leading them to the World Test Championship and ODI World Cup 2023.

Sunrisers Hyderabad took to social media on Monday, March 4 to announce Pat Cummins as their captain for the upcoming season. He was signed by the franchise for a whopping INR 20.5 crores at the 2024 auctions. He is now the second-costliest player in the history of the competition. Cummins will be taking over the leadership duties from Aiden Markram.

Announcing the leadership change, the Sunrisers Hyderabad wrote, “#OrangeArmy! Our new skipper Pat Cummins šŸ§”#IPL2024”

Pat Cummins has taken 45 wickets in his IPL career so far at an economy rate of 8.54, including a four-wicket haul. Recently, he expressed that India is like a second home to him. Ahead of his IPL Captaincy debut, Pat Cummins said,

“India is like a second home. We spend so much time here. IPL you’ve got your home teams. So you actually feel like you’ve got plenty of fans Or, you know, at least cricket fans that have, you know, supported you or, you know, lots of people come up to me and say, Oh, I’m from Kolkata or I go for KKR. So it’s nice feeling like not everyone’s against you.”

Sunrisers Hyderabad to kick off IPL 2024 against Kolkata Knight Riders

The Sunrisers Hyderabad will be taking on the Kolkata Knight Riders to kick off their campaign in the 2024 Indian Premier League season. The Eden Gardens in Kolkata will host the clash on Saturday, March 23. Sunrisers had a horrid 2023 IPL season, where they finished last. They won only four out of their fourteen matches. They will be keen to turn their fortunes this year.

Sunrisers Hyderabad squad: Abdul Samad, Abhishek Sharma, Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Glenn Phillips, Sanvir Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mayank Agarwal, T. Natarajan, Anmolpreet Singh, Mayank Markande, Upendra Singh Yadav, Umran Malik, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Travis Head, Wanindu Hasaranga, Pat Cummins, Jaydev Unadkat, Akash Singh, Jhathavedh Subramanyan

Get the latest cricket newsĀ here, like us onĀ Facebook, and follow us onĀ TwitterĀ andĀ InstagramĀ for more such updates.

Latest Posts