Home Feature IPL 2024: Top 5 Best Bowling Performances In The Tournament

IPL 2024: Top 5 Best Bowling Performances In The Tournament

IPL 2024: Top 5 Best Bowling Performances In The Tournament
IPL 2024

Kolkata Knight Riders lifted their third title with a resounding 8-wicket win over Sunrisers Hyderabad in the finals played at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on 26th May 2024.

It was a dominating performance by KKR bowlers as they bowled out SRH for a mere 113. Despite the loss of Sunil Narine early, Venkatesh Iyer and Gurbaz ensured that KKR made a light chase of the target. KKR won the match by 8 wickets in 10.3 overs.

The Indian Premier League 2024 saw some brilliant bowling performances that stood out and helped their franchise win matches.

Here we look at the 5 best bowling performances of IPL 2024:

  1. Mitchell Starc’s 3 for 34

The star Australian bowler produced a match-winning spell against Sunrisers Hyderabad in qualifier 1 played at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on 21st May 2024.

Starc produced a peach of a delivery to dismiss Travis Head and put pressure back on Sunrisers Hyderabad’s batting. He then dismissed Nitish Kumar Reddy and Shahbaz Ahmed in quick succession to leave SRH in massive trouble. It was a superb bowling effort by Starc ending with 3 for 34 in 4 overs. His efforts ensured that KKR skittled SRH for 159.

Kolkata Knight Riders chased down the target comfortably with 8 wickets remaining and plenty of balls to spare. For his match-winning spell, Mitchell Starc was named the player of the match award.

Mitchell Starc
Mitchell Starc
  1. Mitchell Starc’s 2 for 14

Starc rose to the occasion again with a match-winning performance in the finals against Sunrisers Hyderabad at MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai on 26th May 2024.

Sunrisers Hyderabad captain Cummins won the toss and decided to bat first. Starc produced a peach to dismiss Abhishek Sharma in the first over itself. He then dismissed the dangerous Rahul Tripathi leaving SRH in deep trouble.

Starc bowled brilliantly with discipline lines and lengths not allowing SRH batters to score runs easily. He ended with figures of 2 for 14 in 4 overs that helped KKR skittle out SRH for just 113. For his superb bowling efforts of 2 for 14 in 4 overs, Mitchell Starc was named the player of the match award.

  1. Sandeep Sharma’s 5 for 18

Sandeep Sharma has the best figures in IPL 2024. He picked 5 for 18 against Mumbai Indians at Sawai Man Singh Stadium, Jaipur on 22nd April 2024.

IPL 2024 Sandeep Sharma
Sandeep Sharma

Sandeep was bought as a replacement for Kuldeep Sen. He dismissed Ishan Kishan, and Suryakumar Yadav in the first six overs. Sandeep Sharma showed his skills in the death overs getting wickets of Tilak Varma, Gerald Coetzee, and Tim David to restrict MI to just 179 for 9.

Rajasthan Royals chased down the target comfortably with 9 wickets remaining as Jaiswal scored a superb century. For his match-winning spell of 5 for 18 in 4 overs, Sandeep Sharma was named the player of the match award.

  1. Jasprit Bumrah’s 5 for 21

Jasprit Bumrah was the pick of the bowlers for Mumbai Indians this season. He was at his lethal best with the match-winning effort of 5 for 21 against Royal Challengers Bengaluru at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai on 11th April 2024.

MI captain Hardik Pandya won the toss and decided to field first. Bumrah gave a perfect start getting rid of Virat Kohli with a lovely delivery. He then dismissed well-set RCB captain Faf du Plessis. Bumrah was brilliant with his death bowling getting wickets of Mahipal Lomror, impact player Saurav Chauhan, and Vijaykumar Vyshak. His bowling efforts ensured that MI restricted RCB to 196 for 8.

Jasprit Bumrah
Jasprit Bumrah

Mumbai Indians chased down the target easily with 27 balls to spare and 7 wickets remaining. For his brilliant spell of 5 for 21 in 4 overs, Jasprit Bumrah was named the player of the match award.

  1. Yash Thakur’s 5 for 30

Yash Thakur grabbed the first five-wicket haul in IPL 2024 for Lucknow Super Giants. He achieved this feat against Gujarat Titans at Ekana Stadium, Lucknow on 7th April.

Defending a modest total of 164, Yash Thakur ended 54 runs opening partnership between Shubman Gill and Sai Sudharsan. He bowled Yash Thakur with a lovely delivery.

Yash Thakur
Yash Thakur

Thakur was superb with his bowling getting rid of Vijay Shankar, Rashid Khan, and Rahul Tewaita. He ended the match dismissing Noor Ahmad to help LSG win the match by 33 runs.

Yash Thakur ended with figures of 5 for 30 in 3.5 overs. For his match-winning spell, Yash Thakur was named player of the match award.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts