Home IPL IPL Final Review : Mumbai Indians Created History

IPL Final Review : Mumbai Indians Created History


IPL Final Review : Mumbai Indians Created History :- Not every time it happens that a match it carried on till the very last ball of the innings in an IPL Finals. A low scoring thriller was a “paisa vasool” match for all the fans in the stadium as well as in their houses rooting for their favorite team. Mumbai Indians beat Rising Pune Supergiants by 1 run at Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium, Hyderabad. Mumbai Indians becomes the only team to win their 3rd ever IPL trophy whereas, their skipper Rohit Sharma becomes the only player to win this trophy 4 times.


MI won the toss and decided to bat first against RPS, the team which has defeated MI in all their previous 3 games this season. Jaydev unadkat again proved to be the key bowler for RPS by taking 2 wickets with a stunning catch. Adam zampa got wickets of 2 of the most dangerous batsmen, Rohit Sharma and Kieron Pollard in a single over. The run outs of Rayudu and Karn Sharma made the condition even worse for MI. Nothing was in place for MI, the fall of wickets was rapid and none of the batsmen were allowed to set their arms free. The pitch was proving to be a nightmare for batsmen.  An innings where even 100 was looking tough, Krunal Pandya stepped in and took the team to a respectable total of 129.

Washington Sundar- This young boy from RPS again proved to be a gem for his team. Washington Sundar’s brilliant economical spell of off spin bowling helped RPS to restrict MI at 129. His stats in his previous 2 games were:

Qualifiers1- Washington Sundar took 3 wickets by giving just 16 runs in his 4 overs.  4-0-16-3

Finals- He proved to be the most economical bowler by giving just 13 runs in his 4 overs.  4-0-13-0

Surely, RPS will have something to cherish for by finding this young Indian Talent in IPL 2017.


A match that was looking one sided turned out to be a thriller one by amazing efforts of MI’s bowlers. A slow start by RPS helped the bowlers to gain the momentum and enhance pressure on RPS batsmen. Jasprit Bumrah again proved to be a match winner for MI by taking the big wicket of MS Dhoni. The pitch was slowly turning out to be a rival for the batsmen. A game where every player was struggling to get a run, the captain led from the front and took up the responsibility. However, Mitchell Johnson sent Smith back to the pavilion in the last over of the game. RPS needed 11 runs of the last over. Mitchell Johnson took 2 wickets in the last over and helped MI register their 3rd IPL TITLE.  It was indeed a great game of cricket overall.



Mumbai Indians- 128/8

Rising Pune Supergiants- 128/6

– by Shraddha Kejriwal

Latest Posts