Home Cricket News Irfan Pathan Picks His Best IPL 2020 XI; Leaves Out Virat Kohli,...

Irfan Pathan Picks His Best IPL 2020 XI; Leaves Out Virat Kohli, Jofra Archer

Irfan Pathan Sunrisers Hyderabad

A couple of days have passed since IPL 2020 saw a glorious end with Mumbai Indians emerging as the winners. Since then, former cricketers and commentators have revealed their team of the tournament. Following the trend, former India cricketer Irfan Pathan has picked his IPL 2020 XI.

The former all-rounder went with KL Rahul and Shikhar Dhawan at the top. These two have been more or less everyone’s choice following their stellar show with the bat. While Rahul finished as the highest run-scorer, Dhawan finished second in the chart.

Suryakumar Yadav has also been a regular feature following his show with the bat for Mumbai. He stability provided the much-needed balance in Mumbai’s line-up and played a pivotal role in helping them defend the title. For the No.4 slot, Irfan Pathan picked the ever-reliable AB de Villiers.

Irfan Pathan prefers Rahul Tewatia over Rashid Khan

For the all-rounder’s spot, the cricketer-turned-commentator went with Kieron Pollard and Marcus Stoinis. While Pollard is a seasoned campaigner in the shortest format, Stoinis has been a revelation for Delhi Capitals this season. He has scored runs, picked wickets and has had a massive presence in the ground.

“At No.6, I will have Marcus Stoinis, who will give me the bowling as well. He was in amazing form (during IPL 2020) and played spin also well. I will have Rahul Tewatia at No.7 – he won two matches on his own and bowled brilliantly as well,” Pathan said while picking his squad for ESPNCricinfo. 

Also Read: Best Uncapped XI of IPL 2020

Rahul Tewatia, who has rang eyeballs with his presence found a spot in Pathan’s IPL 2020 XI along with Yuzvendra Chahal. Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah, and Mohammed Shami were picked all pacers – who more or less have featured in everyone’s team of the tournament.

Irfan Pathan’s team of IPL 2020:

KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Suryakumar Yadav, AB de Villiers, Kieron Pollard (c), Marcus Stoinis, Rahul Tewatia, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami.