Home Cricket News James Franklin Picks 3 Indians in his all-time XI, No Place for...

James Franklin Picks 3 Indians in his all-time XI, No Place for Virat Kohli

The New Zealand all-rounder also joined the league of picking his all-time favorite XI which is later posted on the Lord’s Cricket Ground Facebook page in the form of a video. The team was packed with five Mumbai Indians player, a franchise based team in the Indian Premier League which proves that he enjoyed his stint with the reigning champions.

He went with Alastair Cook and his countryman Nathan Astle for the opening slot thus ensuring a balance between fearless batting and solid technique which can give the team a great start.

He chose the little master Sachin Tendulkar and the West Indian legend Brian Lara for the NO 3 and 4 positions. These two stalwarts have featured in almost everybody’s all-time XI proving the fact why they are the legends of the game. With a total of 28831 runs in the fifty over’s format of the game and 85 centuries in total in the Test format, these two players in the middle order will be any bowler’s nightmare to bowl at.

“I’ve gone with Rohit Sharma at number five. His record recently has been outstanding. Especially in one-day cricket, he is a devastating batsman,” he explained his decision of choosing the ever stylish Mumbai batsman for the No 5 spot.

He chose his fellow colleague and countryman Brendon McCullum as the captain of the team who will also perform the wicket-keeping duties. The former New Zealand captain made the cut for his blistering batting style which will provide an extra zeal to the team.

The only all-rounder to feature in the team was Australia’s Andrew Symonds who with his off-breaks and useful knocks in the lower-order can be an important member of the team. He is also electrifying in the field saving some vital runs for his side.

His former Mumbai Indians teammate Harbhajan Singh is the only specialist spinner to be picked in the team. He has a happy knack of picking wickets at regular intervals giving major breakthroughs. He has been lethal on many occasions for the Indian team bowling in tight situations.

The three Quick”s to feature in his team was Mitchell Johnson, Brett Lee, and Shane Bond. These three pace bowlers have proved their worth over and over again for the respective teams they have played.

James Franklin has represented in New Zealand in 31 Test matches and 110 ODI’s. During his days, he was an important member of the team both with bat and ball taking important wickets with his left-arm medium pace.

James Franklin’s All Time XI: Alastair Cook, Nathan Astle, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Rohit Sharma, Andrew Symonds, Brendon McCullum (c & wk), Harbhajan Singh, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Shane Bond.

Watch Here:-