Home Cricket News Jay Shah Confirms Rohit Sharma To Lead India In 2024 T20 World Cup

Jay Shah Confirms Rohit Sharma To Lead India In 2024 T20 World Cup

Jay Shah Confirms Rohit Sharma To Lead India In 2024 T20 World Cup

During an event in Rajkot, BCCI secretary Jay Shah disclosed that India, led by Rohit Sharma, will participate in the T20 World Cup 2024, set to take place in the Caribbean and the USA. Despite Hardik Pandya previously serving as the team’s captain in T20 cricket, the disheartening defeat to Australia in the 2023 World Cup final has sparked discussions of reinstating senior batters Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma for the upcoming T20 tournament in June.

In a notable renaming gesture, the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium was dedicated to veteran cricket administrator and former first-class cricketer Niranjan Shah. The renaming ceremony, coinciding with the eve of the third Test between India and England, saw the presence of key figures including India’s head coach Rahul Dravid, captain Rohit Sharma, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Siraj, Axar Patel, coaching staff, and chairman of selectors Ajit Agarkar.

Additionally, notable Indian cricketers Cheteshwar Pujara, Jadeja, and Jaydev Unadkat were honored during the event.

Shah said: “In 2023 (final) at Ahmedabad, even though we did not win the World Cup after 10 straight wins, we won hearts. I want to promise you that in 2024 (T20 World Cup) in Barbados (venue for the final), under Rohit Sharma’s captaincy, ham Bharat ka jhanda gaadenge (we will hoist the Indian flag).”

Former Indian cricket captains Anil Kumble and Sunil Gavaskar also joined in to felicitate players from Saurashtra who have made significant strides in recent times. Gavaskar specifically acknowledged Niranjan Shah’s pivotal role in elevating Saurashtra’s cricketing fortunes, leading them to clinch the Ranji Trophy title twice.

Niranjan Shah, a former BCCI secretary himself, contributed not only through his administrative prowess but also through his cricketing career, having played 12 first-class matches from 1965 to 1975.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts