Home Cricket News Jofra Archer Wins The Most Valuable Player Award For IPL 2020

Jofra Archer Wins The Most Valuable Player Award For IPL 2020

Jofra Archer Wins The Most Valuable Player Award For IPL 2020
Jofra Archer (Credit: BCCI)

Jofra Archer becomes the most valuable player (MVP) of IPL 2020. The Rajasthan Royals fast bowler was exemplary throughout the season with the ball in hand.

His side may have not had a successful IPL season but Archer always performed to the best of his ability. Jofra Archer bowled with express pace and was a wicket-taker for his side. Also, he enhanced his reputation as a handy lower-order batsman and scored some valuable runs and showcased his six-hitting ability.

Jofra Archer becomes the MVP of IPL 2020

The fast bowler earned a total of 305 fantasy points and finished at the pole position of MVP. Archer in 14 matches picked 20 wickets, bowled a total of 175 dot balls, 5 boundaries, 10 sixes and snaffled 5 catches. Interestingly Jofra became the first-ever player to win the MVP award after his side finishing at the bottom of IPL table.

Jofra Archer finished ahead of Kagiso Rabada and Jasprit Bumrah in the list of MVP for this season. Rabada finished a total of 298 points whereas Bumrah was at the third position with 269.5 points.

“Really grateful to receive the award. It didn’t go as well for the team, and hopefully, this has shown what I can do and I hope it helps the team a little more later,” Jofra Archer said after becoming MVP of IPL 2020

Also Read: Top Controversies Of IPL 2020: From Suresh Raina Pull-Out To Anushka Sharma Slamming Sunil Gavaskar

Meanwhile, in other awards, Kagiso Rabada won the purple catch for being the leading wicket-taker. KL Rahul won the orange cap as he finished as the leading run-getter this season with 670 runs.

Also, Devdutt Padikkal bagged the emerging player of the year award after his brilliant season with the bat for Royal Challengers Bangalore. The Mumbai Indians not only won their fifth IPL title but also took home the Fairplay award of the season.

Also Read: Rohit Sharma Hails His Entire Side After Mumbai Indians Become IPL Champions For The Fifth Time

Latest Posts