Home Cricket News Joshua Little Becomes First Ireland Player To Get Contract In IPL

Joshua Little Becomes First Ireland Player To Get Contract In IPL

Joshua Little Becomes First Ireland Player To Get Contract In IPL
Joshua Little picked up a hat-trick. (Credit: Twitter)

It was a historic moment as Joshua Little became the first Ireland player to get a contract since the inception of the Indian Premier League in 2008.

Joshua Little became the second Ireland bowler after Curtis Campher to pick up a hat trick for Ireland. Little achieved this remarkable feat against New Zealand getting wickets of Kane Williamson, Jimmy Neesham, and Mitchell Santer. Despite his performance, Ireland lost that match easily.

Little featured for Chennai Super Kings as a net bowler last year. He has been picked by Gujarat Titans at a price of 4.4 Crore. He was set at a base price of 50 Lakhs. The bidding took place between Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants. Gujarat Titans eventually got the deal as Joshua Little joined him. Ireland performed brilliantly in the T20 World Cup 2022. They progressed into the Super 12 stage after finishing the qualifying round.

Joshua Little was the pick of bowlers for Ireland with 11 wickets in 7 T20I matches during the T20 World Cup 2022. He went at an economy rate of 7 runs per over during the tournament. Ireland showed its class during the Super 12 stage as they defeated England before giving a tough fight to Australia.

Joshua Little would be looking to make a mark on Indian conditions where there could be little help. Gujarat Titans bought Mohit Sharma, Shivam Mavi as their pace bowling options. Odean Smith has been picked as their all-around option. Kane Williamson has been by Gujarat Titans.

Urvil Patel has been included in the squad. KS Bharat has been included as a wicketkeeper of Wriddhiman Saha. Gujarat Titans traded Lockie Ferguson and Rahmullah Gurbaz to Kolkata Knight Riders.

Joshua Little played a total of 53 T20I matches for Ireland grabbing 62 wickets at an economy rate of 7.65 runs per over with 2 four-wicket hauls.

Gujarat Titans squads for IPL 2023

Retained Players: Hardik Pandya, David Miller, Sai Sudharsan, Jayant Yadav, Matthew Wade, Noor Ahmed, Mohammed Shami, Pradeep Sangwan, R Sai Kishore, Rahul Tewaita, Rashid Khan, Shubman Gill, Vijay Shankar, Wriddhiman Saha, Yash Dayal.

Bought players: Mohit Sharma, Joshua Little, Urvil Patel, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Odean Smith, Kane Williamson.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts