List Of Series That Might Get Affected If IPL 2020 Takes Place In July-September

Mumbai Indians crowned champions of IPL 2019

The pandemic coronavirus has had a massive impact on human life across the globe. With no signs of improvement, the forthcoming edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been postponed until April 15 in the wake of COVID-19 which was scheduled to start from March 29. However, reports have emerged that the tournament can postpone till July-September.

BCCI is in no mood to give up on its hopes of conducting the IPL and is reportedly planning to stage the tournament in July-September if things do not improve in the coming days. Playing a truncated league within a delayed, shortened window looked like the designated ‘Plan B’. But according to the Times of India, the BCCI do not want to conduct a truncated IPL.

Read More: Watch – MS Dhoni plays football in CSK training

The major reason BCCI wants to stage the lucrative league between July and September is that the ICC’s FTP program between these three months is not as packed as others. As per the current FTP, Australia will tour England for three T20Is, and as many One-Day Internationals (ODIs) starting from July 03. Just a few days later, New Zealand will tour the West Indies for a similar fixture, which begins from July 08.

After hosting the Kiwis, the Windies will greet South Africa for three Tests and five T20Is, which is scheduled to start from July 23. In the last week of this month, Pakistan will tour England for three Tests and as many T20Is.

In the same month, the inaugural edition of The Hundred – the 100-ball cricket tournament in England and Wales. Players from all parts of the world are slated to take part in one of a kind tournament which starts from July 17 and run until August 15.

Read More: Australia series will be one of the most important series for us, says Cheteshwar Pujara

Apart from these series, the Asia Cup 2020 is scheduled to take place in September in the United Arab Emirates. However, the fixtures haven’t been announced yet.

Here is the list of international and domestic series slated to take place during that series:


  • Australia tour of England (3 T20Is, 3 ODIs)
  • New Zealand tour of West Indies (3 T20Is, 3 ODIs)
  • South Africa tour of West Indies (3 Tests, 5 T20Is)
  • Pakistan tour of England (3 Tests, 3 T20Is)
  • Asia Cup


  • The Hundred (July 17-August 15)

Read More: Watch – Virat Kohli Turns Down A Selfie Request From A Young Girl