Home Cricket News Maharashtra government honours Rohit Sharma & Ajinkya Rahane

Maharashtra government honours Rohit Sharma & Ajinkya Rahane

Sports awards are a very important part of any sporting culture, it”s crucial that a sportsperson feels comfortable in an environment which understands them and wants to facilitate & reward them for their efforts on & off the field.

While Indian govt as is the norm gives away the prestigious awards such as the Dronacharya award, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award, and Arjuna awards for players and coaches, the Maharashtra state govt does the same with the precious Shiv Chhatrapati sports awards.

This year the Indian cricketers Rohit Sharma and Ajinkya Rahane have been named in the prestigious Shiv Chhatrapati State Sports Awards list announced on Monday by the Government of Maharashtra.

Rohit (for the 2015-16 season) and Rahane (2016-17) have been chosen for their outstanding performance in international cricket.

The awards will be presented at a function at the Gateway of India on February 17. The winners will receive a trophy, certificate and a cash prize of Rs. 3 lakh.

Former India cricketer Pravin Amre has been chosen for the coach award for 2016-17. He will receive a trophy, certificate and cash award of Rs. 1 lakh.

Other sports personalities and the prominent winners are : (2014-15: Vidit Gujrathi, Sagar Shah, Ashyaraj Kore (Chess), Prarthana Thombare (Tennis), Pooja Sahasrabudhe (Table Tennis), Yuvraj Walmiki (Hockey), Abhilasha Mhatre (Kabaddi).

2015-16: Akshay Dewlakar (Badminton), Shardul Gagare, Swapnil Chopade (Chess).

2016-17: Lalita Babar and Sanjivani Jadhav (Athletics), Riyaz Akbar Ali and Prashanth More (Carrom), Abhimanyu Puranik and Aakanksha Hagawane (Chess), Purav Raja (Tennis), Devinder Walmiki (Hockey), Dattu Baban Bhokanal (Rowing).

These awards as stated above will make these athletes even more determined and keen to do well. They will work even harder in their planning & preparations and bring glory to the country once again with their efforts.

We wish them luck.