Home Cricket News MS Dhoni to lead India against West Indies for Florida T20Is

MS Dhoni to lead India against West Indies for Florida T20Is


 India announced their 14-man squad for 2 T20Is vs WI to be played at Central Broward Park stadium in Florida on 27th and 28th August after the conclusion of the test series in Caribbean.This will be the first time that India will be playing in USA.

Middle order batsmen Suresh Raina and Yuvraj Singh are notable absentees. Mishra, Umesh, Binny, who were not part of India”s WT20 squad make their comeback while there is no room for Hardik Pandya and Pawan Negi. KL Rahul retains his place from the squad that toured Zimbabwe.

Absence of Raina and Yuvraj means that Rahane will definitely get a chance in playing XI. Rahane opening the innings means India”s most successful opener over the last couple of years Rohit Sharma will have to shift down the order at No.4. Virat Kohli will bat at 3. Kl Rahul who had a fruitful IPL season batting in middle order for RCB is likely to play at No.5. Dhoni will assume the finishing duties at No.6.

Bhuvneshwar, Shami and Bumrah form a formidable pace attack while Jadeja and Ashwin will take care of spin department. Dhoni has back up in form of Stuart Binny in case he wants to play a fast bowling all rounder. Looking at West Indian batsmen”s susceptibility to leg spin, Mishra is always in the hunt to make it to playing XI.

Will India seek revenge of WT20 semi final or will West Indies start their new era in T20 cricket on a high under captaincy of Carlos Brathwaite? Watch out on 27th and 28th August!!!

India squad for WIvIND T20s in USA: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Lokesh Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Amit Mishra, Stuart Binny

– by Atharva Apte

Latest Posts