Home Cricket News Narayan Jagdessan Register Highest List A Score in 2022 Vijay Hazare Trophy

Narayan Jagdessan Register Highest List A Score in 2022 Vijay Hazare Trophy

Narayan Jagdessan Register Highest List A Score in 2022 Vijay Hazare Trophy

The Tamil Nadu opener, Narayan Jagdessan recorded the highest ever List A individual score. He achieved this remarkable feat in the sixth round match against Arunachal Pradesh played at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru on 21 November 2022. He produced a sensational display of batting during today’s match.

Arunachal Pradesh captain Kamsha Yangfo won the toss and decided to field first. Jagdeesan looked in sublime touch putting pressure with aggressive shots. He hammered the Arunachal Pradesh bowlers along with Sai Sudharsan. Both Tamil Nadu openers did not allow their bowlers to settle and kept the momentum going for Tamil Nadu.

Jagdeesan and Sai Sudharsan put on record 416 runs for the opening wicket. Jagadeesan was eventually dismissed for a record-breaking 277 off 141 balls with 25 fours and 15 sixes. He surpassed Ali Brown’s 268 that took place 20 years ago. Jagadeesan also surpassed Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara’s record for most centuries. Sangakkara hit 4 centuries during the 2015 World Cup played in New Zealand and Australia.

Tamil Nadu also broke the record for most centuries in a single Vijay Hazare Trophy edition. Virat Kohli, Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Devdutt Paddikal scored four centuries each. Jagadeesan has been in sensational form during this year’s edition. He has made so far 799 runs from 6 matches ( 6 innings) at an average of 159.8. His performance with the bat for Tamil Nadu has stood out.

Narayan Jagdessan made headlines with his stunning knock

After being dismissed cheaply in the opening encounter against Bihar as the match was abandoned due to rain, Jagadeesan proved his worth with an unbeaten 114 against Andhra Pradesh. Tamil Nadu won the match comfortably by 9 wickets in the 2nd Group C match.

He then followed with a brilliant 107 off 113 deliveries against Chhattisgarh. Jagadeesan and Sai Sudhrashan added 233 runs for the opening wicket. Tamil Nadu posted 340 for 6 in 50 overs. Despite Chhattisgarh’s efforts, Tamil Nadu won the match by 14 runs.

Jagdeesan followed with another sensational knock against Goa. He made 168 off 140 balls with 15 fours and 6 sixes. Tamil Nadu posted a massive total of 373 for 4. Tamil Nadu defended the target quickly winning it by 57 runs.

Tamil Nadu opener then scored his 4th successive century with a brilliant 128 off 123 balls with 6 fours and 6 sixes against Haryana in the 5th round match. Tamil Nadu won the game by a massive 151 runs. Jagdeesan and Sai Sudhrasan put on 151 runs for the opening wicket.

TN is currently at the number 1 position in the points table of Group C and directly to qualify for the knockouts of the Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts