Home Cricket News New Zealand Announce Squads For T20Is And Tests Against West Indies

New Zealand Announce Squads For T20Is And Tests Against West Indies

New Zealand Announce Squads For T20Is And Tests Against West Indies
New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson after the final.

Wellington batsman Devon Conway has been handed maiden call-up as New Zealand announced squads for the upcoming T20Is and Tests against West Indies. On the other hand, the selectors have dropped star opener Colin Munro owing to his commitments in the BBL.

Meanwhile, Kane Williamson has been picked only for the red-ball format while Tim Southee will lead the side in the shortest format. Trent Boult has been left out from the T20Is in a bid to manage their workload ahead of the long home series.

Speaking after the team announcements, New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said they have left out Trent Boult and Kane Williamson from the T20Is to manage their workload considering they are coming from the back of IPL.

“We’ve had to make a decision on Kane and Trent to prioritise the Test matches, given how important they are to our red-ball team and the fact they both played such big roles in the recent IPL while also managing injuries,” Stead said. 

Tim Southee to lead New Zealand in T20Is

Impressive fast bowler Kyle Jamieson, who made his ODI and Test debuts against India earlier this year, has been picked in both the squads. However, he as well as Tim Southee and Taylor – will be available only for the first two games before joining up with the Test squad on November 30 in Hamilton.

Also Read: Shakib Al Hasan Receives Death Threat On Facebook Live

The T20I squad also sees the return of Glenn Phillips, who finished second in the list of highest run-scorers with 316 runs at a strike rate of 127.41 in 10 CPL outings. With three players leaving just before the final game of the T20I series, NZC have added Mark Chapman, Doug Bracewell and Scott Kuggeleijn as cover.

The three-match T20I series between New Zealand and West Indies commence on November 27 while the Tests kick-off from December 3.

T20I Squad: Tim Southee (c), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert (wk), Ross Taylor

Also Read: Shakib Al Hasan Denied BBL Contract By Cricket Australia

Test Squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk), Will Young

Latest Posts