Sri Lanka Cricket”s selectors have announced their preliminary squad for the upcoming Nidahas Trophy a T20 international triangular series versus India and Bangladesh to be played in March.

Lasith Malinga the Srilankan fast bowling stalwart has been left out of the squad despite good performances recently in the domestic tournament back home.

Sri Lanka”s domestic T20 competition began on Saturday (February 24) and Malinga featured in all games of Nondescripts Cricket Club. Although he has taken ten wickets in three games, including three for 24 against Burgher Recreation Club on Tuesday, he was overlooked.

Srilanka”s chairman of the selection committee said,  “He is certainly in our plans for 2019 World Cup, but we want him to play more games. We want him to play the current T20 competition and then the one-day tournament after that,”

Malinga has been struggling with his form and fitness for a very long time since his knees and shoulders become vulnerable to injuries.

Dinesh Chandimal will continue to lead the side. The Test captain hasn”t been in the team”s plans for T20 cricket, but he replaced Angelo Mathews as captain when Sri Lanka”s white ball captain had to return home early from Bangladesh with a hamstring injury. Under Chandimal, Sri Lanka won the tri-nation competition, Test series, and the two-match T20 series.

It is sad that Matthews one of the best batting talents of the world continues to fight battles with his brittle injury-prone body.

The Nidahas Trophy gets underway on March 6 in Colombo with the hosts taking on India.

Sri Lanka”s Preliminary T20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Janith Perera, Thisara Perera, Jeewan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Niroshan Dickwella, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Isuru Udana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Asitha Fernando, Lahiru Kumara, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera and Dananjaya De Silva