Home Cricket News Only One Indian in Kumar Sangakkara’s all-time playing XI

Only One Indian in Kumar Sangakkara’s all-time playing XI


Sri Lankan great Kumar Sangakkara has announced his all-time XI. He currently retired from first-class cricket in England who played for Surrey. He played for Sri Lanka cricket in 134 test matches, 404 ODI matches, 56 T20 matches. Apart from that, Sangakkara also played 260 first-class matches along with 528 List A.

©Getty Images

In his all-time XI, Kumar Sangakkara has opted for a hard-hitting left-handed batsman from Australia who was one of the backbones from 1997-2007. With him, he opened with Indian great Rahul Dravid. Dravid has done well for team India in test matches at number 3.

At number 3, the Sri Lankan great has selected West Indies legend Brian Lara. Brian Lara was one of the best batsmen for West Indies for quite some time. Australian legend Ricky Pointing has been selected by Sangakkara at number 4. He was one of the best batsmen with his technique and stroke play.

© Getty Images

Arvinda de Silva has been named as the captain of his all-time XI. For all-rounder place and number 6 place, Jacques one of the best all-rounders in world cricket with both and ball is his choice.

Adam Gilchrist is at number 7 with his wicketkeeping skills and also his batting ability. He changed the batting style in test cricket.

The spin department includes Australian great Shane Warner who is the second leading wicket-taker in international comes at number 8. Sri Lankan great and leading wicket-taker in international Muttiah Muralitharan is placed at number 9.

©Getty Images

For the pace bowler department, Pakistani great Wasim Akram has been included at number 10 along with his teammates Chaminda Vaas in the final place. He did not include one of the best batsmen in world cricket Sachin Tendulkar which is a surprise for cricket fans.

Here we look at his all-time XI:-

  1. Matthew Hayden (Australia)
  2. Rahul Dravid (India)
  3. Brian Lara (West Indies)
  4. Ricky Pointing (Australia)
  5. Arvinda de Silva ( Sri Lanka) ©
  6. Jacques Kallis (South Africa)
  7. Adam Gilchrist (Australia) (WK)
  8. Shane Warne (Australia)
  9. Muttiah Muralitharan (Sri Lanka)
  10. Wasim Akram (Pakistan)
  11. Chaminda Vaas ( Sri Lanka)

Latest Posts