Home Cricket News Pakistan Announce 18- Man Squad For T20I Series Against New Zealand

Pakistan Announce 18- Man Squad For T20I Series Against New Zealand

Pakistan Squad For T20 World Cup 2021
Photo Credit: (Getty Images)

Pakistan has declared an 18 member squad the for upcoming 3 matches T20I series against New Zealand. Babar Azam will lead Pakistan against New Zealand and Shadab Khan will be the vice-captain for the T20I series. The Pakistan cricket team have already reached New Zealand and are completing their mandatory quarantine period.

Pakistan who was once ranked number 1 in the ICC T20I team rankings has been disappointing in the shortest format. In the last few years, the men in green have failed to perform consistently in T20Is. As a result, Pakistan in recent times has introduced fresh faces in their T20I squad that are also part for the New Zealand tour.

Babar Azam & Co has picked a battery of fast bowlers for the T20I series against New Zealand. The likes of Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Musa Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Wahab Riaz are all part of the 18 member squad. Also, leg-spinner Usman Qadir has been retained in the T20I squad after his impressive performances in the recent series against Zimbabwe.

Meanwhile, the two most experienced members of the Pakistan T20I squad are Mohammad Hafeez and former skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed. The Men in Greens will also be banking on the exciting Haider and Ali and power striker Khushdil Shah in the T20I series against New Zealand.

Also Read: Babar Azam Reveals His Family Struggled Financially And He Used His First Bat For 3 Years

Complete Pakistan T20I Squad For The T20I Series Against New Zealand 

Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan (VC), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Musa Khan, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Qadir, Wahab Riaz

As far as the schedule of the T20I series is concerned, the first match will be played at Eden Park in Auckland on 18 December. The last two T20I matches will be played on 20 and 22 December at Hamilton and Napier respectively.

Also Read: ICC Doesn’t Have The Ability To Influence India-Pakistan Bilateral Ties- Greg Barclay