Home BBL Perth Scorchers Defend Title Despite Stephen Eskinazi’s Effort In The BBL Final

Perth Scorchers Defend Title Despite Stephen Eskinazi’s Effort In The BBL Final

Perth Scorchers Defend Title Despite Stephen Eskinazi’s Effort In The BBL Final

The defending Big Bash champions, Perth Scorchers gave up two terrible runouts to the Brisbane Heat in the championship game on Saturday night, but they still managed to win.

The first shocking mistake saw opener Stephen Eskinazi blasted for an “unforgivable” mistake – failing to slide his bat and gain ground while chasing 176 against the Brisbane Heat to seal Perth’s record fifth BBL title.

Eskinazi was “lethargic” in his approach, which cost him his wicket. In the fifth over, while Cameron Bancroft went for the full-length dive to the danger end, Heat fielder Max Bryant had a shy to the non-strikers and caught Eskinazi short.

Mark Waugh criticized the events at Optus Stadium.

“That’s unforgivable really. That’s just casual,” he said.

“You’ve always got to assume the ball is coming to your end, no matter the situation is in the game.That’s un-Scorcher like! You’ve got to slide your bat! He won’t want to see that replay again.It’d be a sick feeling for Eskinazi.”

Brisbane Heat batted first and posted a challenging 175/7 total, but Scorchers captain Ashton Turner’s fifty and Cooper Connolly’s 25* off 11 helped the Scorchers to a memorable five-wicket win.

Jimmy Peirson won the toss and chose to bat first at Optus Stadium, with no changes to their previous outing’s lineup. The Scorchers were forced to make one substitution, with Matthew Kelly replacing Lance Morris. Josh Brown got the Heat off to a fast start, smashing 25 off 12 balls before being caught off David Payne’s delivery in the second over.

Sam Heazlett and Nathan McSweeney put on a 79-run second-wicket stand to keep Heat on track for a big total. In the middle overs, the Scorchers bowlers made a strong comeback, with Jason Behrendorff taking two wickets. Max Bryant smashed 31 off 14 with two fours and three sixes to put up a big total. Kelly and Behrendorff each took two wickets, while the Scorchers’ Andrew Tye, David Payne, and Aaron Hardie each took one.

The Scorchers started well as well, with the top order contributing small but crucial knocks. Aaron Hardie hit 17 off 13 balls before being caught out by Spencer Johnson’s delivery in the eighth over. Heat were in command after ten overs of play, with a score of 67/3.

Turner and Josh Inglis, however, put on a crucial 80-run partnership for the fourth wicket to keep the game alive. Turner top-scored 53 off 32 balls before being run out in the 17th over, while Inglis scored 26. In the death overs, Nick Hobson and Cooper Connolly maintained the momentum and chased the target with four balls remaining.

When the Scorchers needed nine runs off the last five balls, Hobson smashed a six and a four (off a no-ball). Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, and Matthew Kuhnemann each took one wicket, but Michael Neser, who had been instrumental in the Heat’s run to the final, was unable to make an impact with either bat or ball.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts