Home Cricket News Prithvi Shaw Registers 2nd Highest Individual Score In Ranji Trophy History

Prithvi Shaw Registers 2nd Highest Individual Score In Ranji Trophy History


The explosive India opener Prithvi Shaw made headlines with a record-breaking knock against Assam played at Amingaon Cricket Ground, Guwahati on 11 January 2023.

It was a sensational knock by Shaw who showed his class against Assam plundering them to all parts of the ground completing his century inside lunch break on the 1st day. He continued his aggressive style of play and smashed the Assam bowlers. It was a dominating display of cricket by Shaw who made the batting look easy. He ended the first day not out on 240 as Mumbai made 347 for 2.

Starting on the overnight score of 240 not out, Shaw continued from where he left off. He hammered the Assam bowlers to all parts of the ground and made the batting look easy. Shaw kept showing his class with an array of strokes completing his triple century. After the milestone, he smashed the Assam bowlers and looked for good for more. He was eventually dismissed for 379 off 383 deliveries with 49 boundaries and 4 sixes. Shaw showed his domination against the Assam bowlers and helped Mumbai post a mammoth total of 687 for 4.

Ajiyanka Rahane also missed a double century by 9 runs. Prithvi Shaw has been in sensational form recently. He became the only player to hit a century in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, a double century in Vijay Hazare Trophy, and a triple century in Ranji Trophy history. With his 397 runs, Prithvi Shaw broke the record of Sanjay Manjrekar.

Prithvi Shaw made headlines with his blistering knock

Shaw showed tremendous consistency for Mumbai during the 2022/23 Ranji Trophy season so far. He made 539 runs from 5 matches ( 8 innings) with 1 century and 1 half-century with a career-best score of 379.

He joined the list of elite batters in Ranji Trophy history to smash triple centuries. Sanjay Manjrekar scored 337 for Bombay against Hyderabad during the 1990/91 season. MV Sridhar, Vijay Merchant, Samit Gohel, VVS Laxman, Cheteshwar Pujara, Swapnil Gugale, Puneet Bisht, S Gani, Sunil Gavaskar and Prashant Chopra are other batters to hit triple centuries in the premier domestic tournament.

BB Nimbalkar still holds the record for the highest induvial score in Ranji Trophy history. He scored 443 not out for Maharashtra against Saurashtra during the 1948/49 season.

However, Prithvi Shaw would be looking to make a comeback into the Indian team after this superb knock. He could be selected for the upcoming T20I or ODI overs series against New Zealand starting on 18 January.

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts