Home Cricket News Rashid Khan To Lead Afghanistan In The T20I Series Against UAE

Rashid Khan To Lead Afghanistan In The T20I Series Against UAE

Rashid Khan To Lead Afghanistan In The T20I Series Against UAE

The United Arab Emirates (UAE) will host a three-match T20I series against Afghanistan in Abu Dhabi from February 16–18, as part of an agreement established by the cricket boards of both nations last November. This bilateral series, confirmed by the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) and the Emirates Cricket Board (ECB) on Saturday, marks a significant collaboration between the two entities.

On November 27, the two cricket boards signed a five-year agreement stipulating that the ECB will provide the ACB with logistical and infrastructure support, including hosting Afghanistan’s “home” matches. Under this agreement, Afghanistan will participate in an annual three-match T20I series with the UAE.

For the upcoming series, Afghanistan has announced a preliminary squad of 22 players, led by leg-spinner Rashid Khan. The squad will travel to the UAE next week for a conditioning camp in Abu Dhabi, after which it will be reduced to 17 players before the series begins. The ACB has not yet announced the coaching staff for the series, as the contracts of head coach Jonathan Trott and bowling coach Umar Gul were not renewed last month. Instead, assistant coach Raees Ahmadzai will lead the support staff, along with local coaches.

Naseeb Khan, CEO of the Afghanistan Cricket Board, emphasized that this T20I series represents just the start of a long-term partnership between the two boards. Mubashshir Usmani, General Secretary of the Emirates Cricket Board, welcomed the Afghan players and officials, expressing his anticipation for a highly entertaining and competitive series between the two countries.

Naseeb Khan said: “We are honoured to be part of this partnership and are pleased with the results of our recent talks and negotiations with the Emirates Cricket Board.”

“Playing this T20I series is the first step in our long-term commitment and we are looking forward to a continued relationship with the ECB.”

Afghanistan Squad

Rashid Khan (captain), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wicketkeeper), Abdul Rahman Rahmani, Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Bilal Sami, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Gulbadin Naib, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Nangyal Kharoti, Naveen Ul Haq, Nijat Masoud, Noor Ahmad, Rahmat Shah, Sediqullah Atal, Shahidullah Kamal, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Zahir Khan

Get the latest cricket news here, like us on Facebook, and follow us on Twitter and Instagram for more such updates.

Latest Posts