Home Cricket News Review: 5th T20I, India vs New Zealand, Mount Maunganui

Review: 5th T20I, India vs New Zealand, Mount Maunganui


Indian team became the first team in the history of T20 internationals to clean sweep a team in a 5 match T20 series. Indian team defeated the hosts New Zealand in the final T20 Match of the tournament by 7 runs. 

India were led by Rohit Sharma who won the toss and elected to bat first at Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui. The Indian team made just one change with regular captain Virat Kohli being replaced by Rohit Sharma. 

Sanju Samson and KL Rahul opened the innings for India, with Rohit Sharma batting at No.3 for the Indian team in place of Virat Kohli. Sanju Samson again went cheaply just scoring 2 off 5 balls and then there was a strong partnership between KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma. 

KL Rahul went on to score 45 off 33 balls before bowing down to Hamish Bennett in the 12th over. Rohit Sharma who was batting really well was retired hurt for 60 off 41 balls. Indian then had a good partnership between middle order batsmen Shreyas Iyer and Shivam Dube. 

Manish Pandey then came up with a last over blitz to help India reach the total of 163 for the loss of 3 wickets. 

Indian bowlers were spot on and put proper pressure on the Kiwi batsmen as the Indian bowlers especially Bumrah and Sundar reduced New Zealand to 17 off 3. Before Tim Seifert and Ross Taylor put up a good partnership and ut pressure on the Indian bowlers. 

It was the 10th over where Shivam Dube was taken to cleaner for 34 runs by Tim Seifert and Ross Taylor. 

It was then the Haryana-born pacer Navdeep Saini who changed the complexion of the game after taking the all important wicket of Tim Seifert and it was then Navdeep Saini and Jasprit Bumrah who brought the game back into India's favour. 

Jasprit Bumrah was adjudged the Man of the Match and KL Rahul was adjudged the Man of the Series for his performance with the bat.

India won the T20 series for the first time in New Zealand. India will now face New Zealand in the One Day Series on the 5th of February in Hamilton. 

Latest Posts