Home Cricket News Ricky Ponting picks his all-time XI; Only One Indian in the list

Ricky Ponting picks his all-time XI; Only One Indian in the list

Former Australian captain Ricky Ponting announced his all-time XI. He is one of best batsmen that World cricket has ever produced. In the opening two positions, the hard-hitting Matthew Hayden and Justin are two openers.

Both of these Australian openers have a great time as a pair averaging 51.53. These two players played key roles in helping Australia to dominate World Cricket from 1997-2007. At number 3, Ricky Ponting has included one of the greatest all-rounders in world cricket Jacques Kallis who has a great record in test cricket with bat and ball.

One of the best cricketers in the world, Sachin Tendulkar comes at number 4. He has a great record in every format and it would be not fair to include him in the XI of any team. The West Indies great Brian Lara comes at number 5. His ability to score runs with quick pace especially in any format would be an ideal choice.

According to Ricky Ponting, Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara would be made the captain of the team with his batting abilities and wicketkeeping skills makes him an ideal choice at number 6. The style Adam Gilchrist changed the style of batting in test cricket would be my number 7. He would be my wicketkeeper-batsman.

Shane Warne one of the greatest leg-spinners in the world would be my number 8. He has a total of 708 wickets in test matches and 293 wickets in ODI format. The Pakistan legend, Wasim Akram with the ability to swing the new ball and bowl reverse swing with old ball at 150, was one of the difficult bowlers would be my number 9.

West Indies legend bowler Curtley Ambrose who bowled on a tight line and length not allowing batsmen to score easily comes at number 10. His final choice in all time XI was Glenn McGrath who was a great bowler in test cricket and ODI format who was a tough bowler to face.


Ricky Ponting all-time XI


Matthew Hayden (Australia) , Justin Langer (Australia) , Jacques Kallis (South Africa) , Sachin Tendulkar (India) , Brian Lara( West Indies) , Kumar Sangakkara ©(Sri Lanka) , Adam Gilchrist (WK)(Australia), Shane Warne (Australia), Wasim Akram (Pakistan) , Curtley Ambrose (West Indies), Glenn McGrath (Australia).