Home Cricket News Rohit Sharma makes a comeback into the Test side for SL series;...

Rohit Sharma makes a comeback into the Test side for SL series; Full squad

The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked the India Cricket Team for the 3 match Test series against Sri Lanka.

Indian selectors recalled middle-order batsman Rohit Sharma. He last played a Test for India against New Zealand in October 2016. After that, he was sidelined due to the thigh injury.

The middle-order batsman Karun Nair & off-spinning allrounder Jayant Yadav has been dropped from the squad.

BCCI recalled uncapped all-rounder Hardik Pandya to the Test squad & he adds some strength to a pace-bowling unit for the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka.

KL Rahul is set to play his first international match since the March 2017, having completed his rehabilitation from injury.

The Selectors have retained Abhinav Mukund as the reserve opener & Kuldeep Yadav as the third spinner for three-Test series against Sri Lanka.

S.No. Date Match Venue
1 July 21-22 Warm-up Colombo (Moratuwa)
2 July 26-30 1st Test GICS, Galle
3 Aug 3-7 2nd Test SSC, Colombo
4 Aug 12-16 3rd Test PICS, Kandy
5 Aug 20 1st ODI RDICS, Dambulla
6 Aug 24 2nd ODI PICS, Kandy
7 Aug 27 3rd ODI PICS, Kandy
8 Aug 31 4th ODI RPICS, Colombo
9 Sept 3 5th ODI RPICS, Colombo
10 Sept 6 Only T20I RPICS, Colombo


India will start their tour on 26th July in Galle before playing the next two Tests in Colombo and Kandy.

Team India : Virat Kohli (Captain), M Vijay, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vice captain), Rohit Sharma, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, W Saha (wk), Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, M Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Abhinav Mukund.

More to follow…