Home Cricket News SAvIND: Big Boost For South Africa”s batting order for the rest of...

SAvIND: Big Boost For South Africa”s batting order for the rest of the ODI series

South Africa have announced their squad for the last three one day internationals of the ongoing ODI series versus India.

AB de Villiers has returned to South Africa”s squad for the last three one-day internationals against India and should play in Johannesburg in the 4th ODI if he passes the fitness test.

De Villiers missed the first half of the six-match series due to a finger injury, and South Africa was soundly beaten in all three games during his absence. While his return to the squad was confirmed after the selectors met in Johannesburg on Thursday, a spokesperson said that the batsman will still need to be assessed when the squad gathers at the Wanderers on the eve of the Pink ODI.

If AB is fit he could provide the South African batting much needed boost especially versus India”s two wrist spinners who have picked their 21 wkts at only averaging 9 this series.

AB de Villiers ©AFP

“Having AB back is going to be a massive boost,” JP Duminy had said after South Africa lost the third ODI at Newlands by 124 runs. “He”s one of the world”s best players in one-day cricket. He will bring confidence to the team and his leadership within the group will add a lot of value as well.”

De Villiers”s addition was the only change to South Africa”s squad.

South Africa wanted to try some new players in the series, and batsman Khaya Zondo, bowler Lungi Ngidi, and wicketkeeper Heinrich Klaasen have all made their ODI debuts. While the selectors might have had thoughts of resting some of the Test players with a four-match series against Australia due to get started on March 1, quite substantial inexperience in the squad and the results in the series so far has not allowed such a luxury.

Instead, senior players such as Hashim Amla, Morne Morkel, and Kagiso Rabada will remain with the squad. Morkel was rested in Wednesday”s third match, and Rabada is likely to sit out at least one of the remaining matches. Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock remain sidelined by injuries.

Squad:- Aiden Markram (c), Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Lungisani Ngidi, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Khayelihle Zondo, Farhaan Behardien.